Coordinated network development plan and long-term plan

Network development planning

The Austrian network development plan must contain all measures suitable for the appropriate optimisation, enhancement and expansion of the gas grid and for safeguarding security of supply which need to be implemented in the system over the next decade to ensure safe and reliable system operation.

Section 63(1) of the Gaswirtschaftsgesetz (Natural Gas Act) 2011 obliges the market area manager to coordinate with the transmission system operators and then to submit to the regulator a coordinated ten-year network development plan each year, taking into account the long-term plan and having consulted all relevant stakeholders. The plan must be based on existing and forecast supply and demand, and it must contain effective measures that guarantee the adequacy of the system and the security of supply.

In drawing up the plans, technical and economic expediency, the interests of all market participants and consistency with the Community-wide network development plan are to be taken into account.

The network development plan must in particular:

  • indicate to market participants the main infrastructure that needs to be built or extended over the next ten years;
  • list all the investments already decided and identify new investments which have to be executed in the next ten years; and
  • provide for a time frame for all investment projects.

For the distribution area manager, section 22 Natural Gas Act 2011 stipulates the duty to draw up a long-term plan (covering at least ten years) for the distribution systems pursuant to annex 1 of the Act once a year and submit it to the regulator.

All plans must rely on reasonable assumptions about the evolution of the production, supply, consumption, storage needs and gas exchanges with other countries, taking into account investment plans for regional and Community-wide networks, as well as investment plans for storage facilities.

For both the coordinated network development plan (CNEP) and the long-term plan (LTP), the authority conducts open and transparent consultations. It publishes the results of the consultations, pointing out in particular possible needs for investments.

The regulator checks whether the ten-year network development plan covers all investment needs identified during the consultation process, and whether it is consistent with the ENTSO-G's ten-year network development plan (TYNDP) referred to in Article 8(3)(b) of Regulation (EC) No 715/2009.

Approved CNDPs and LTPs are available together with the relating official decisions here on our website (in German). An English version of the CNDPs is available here on the English website.

Guidelines for the implementation of the Coordinated Network Development Plan 2018

Sections 62 to 65 of the Austrian Gaswirtschaftsgesetz (Natural Gas Act) 2011 Federal Law Gazette I No. 107/2001, as amended. contain obligations relevant for drafting the Coordinated Network Development Plan (CNDP) for Austria as well as the respective network development plans (NDPs). Based on these provisions and on the preparation, submission and approval practices of past CNDPs, the regulatory authority (E-Control) has, in cooperation with transmission system operators (TSOs) and the market area manager (MAM), drafted guidelines outlining important requirements for the assessment of projects that are part of the CNDP 2018 pursuant to sections 62 et sqq. Natural Gas Act 2011. These guidelines, aiming to foster efficient and transparent procedures, serve as the basis for submitting projects for the CNDP 2018 and should be used in this process. For future processes, the guidelines can be adapted and further developed upon a respective request by and through a coordinated effort by MAM/TSO/E-Control.

The present guidelines do not affect the rights of the regulatory authority and the obligations of the TSOs or the MAM outlined in sections 62 et sqq. Natural Gas Act 2011 in any way. This particularly concerns the TSOs’ obligation to adjust their network development plan at any time upon request by the regulatory authority if such a plan has already been submitted but not approved (section 64 para. 5 Natural Gas Act 2011).

 

Guidelines for the implementation of the CNDP 2018 (0,9 MB)

  • and in particular for submission of projects that are part of the CNDP 2018 pursuant to sections 62 et sqq. of the Austrian Gaswirtschaftsgesetz (Natural Gas Act) 2011

Netzentwicklungsplanung

Die österreichische Netzausbauplanung hat alle wirksamen Maßnahmen zur bedarfsgerechten Optimierung, Verstärkung und zum bedarfsgerechten Ausbau des Gasnetzes sowie zur Gewährleistung der Versorgungssicherheit zu enthalten, welche in den nächsten zehn Jahren netztechnisch für einen sicheren und zuverlässigen Netzbetrieb erforderlich sind.

Der Marktgebietsmanager hat in Koordination mit den Fernleitungsnetzbetreibern, und unter Berücksichtigung der Langfristigen Planung (LFP), gemäß § 63 Abs. 1 Gaswirtschaftsgesetz 2011 (GWG 2011), die Aufgabe der Regulierungsbehörde jedes Jahr nach Konsultation aller einschlägigen Interessenträger einen zehnjährigen Koordinierten Netzentwicklungsplan (KNEP) vorzulegen. Dieser stützt sich auf die derzeitige Lage und die Prognosen im Bereich von Angebot und Nachfrage. Der KNEP enthält wirksame Maßnahmen zur Gewährleistung der Angemessenheit des Netzes und der Versorgungssicherheit.

Bei der Erstellung der Netzausbauinstrumente sind die technischen und wirtschaftlichen Zweckmäßigkeiten, die Interessen aller Marktteilnehmer sowie die Kohärenz mit dem gemeinschaftsweiten Netzentwicklungsplan zu berücksichtigen.

Zweck der Netzausbauplanung ist es insbesondere,

  • den Marktteilnehmern Angaben darüber zu liefern, welche wichtigen Infrastrukturen in den nächsten zehn Jahren errichtet oder ausgebaut werden müssen;
  • alle bereits beschlossenen Investitionen aufzulisten und die neuen Investitionen zu bestimmen, die in den nächsten zehn Jahren durchgeführt werden müssen, und
  • einen Zeitplan für alle Investitionsprojekte vorzugeben.

Der Verteilgebietsmanager hat, gemäß § 22 GWG 2011, die Aufgabe der Regulierungsbehörde jedes Jahr eine zumindest zehnjährige LFP für die Verteilerleitungsanlagen gemäß Anlage 1 des GWG 2011 vorzulegen.

Bei der Erarbeitung des KNEP und der LFP werden angemessene Annahmen über die Entwicklung der Gewinnung, der Versorgung, des Verbrauchs, des Speicherbedarfs und des grenzüberschreitenden Gasaustauschs unter Berücksichtigung der Investitionspläne für regionale und gemeinschaftsweite Netze sowie der Investitionspläne für Speicheranlagen zugrunde gelegt.

Die Regulierungsbehörde führt offene und transparente Konsultationen zu beiden Netzausbauinstrumenten durch. Die Regulierungsbehörde veröffentlicht das Ergebnis der Konsultationen und verweist dabei insbesondere auf etwaigen Investitionsbedarf.

Die Regulierungsbehörde prüft, ob der zehnjährige Netzentwicklungsplan den gesamten im Zuge der Konsultationen ermittelten Investitionsbedarf erfasst und ob die Kohärenz mit dem Ten-Year Network Development Plan der ENTSOG gemäß Artikel 8 Absatz 3 Buchstabe b der Verordnung (EG) 715/2009 gegeben ist.

Den genehmigten KNEP und die genehmigte LFP sowie die dazugehörigen Bescheide finden Sie hier.

Leitlinien der Energie-Control Austria für die Erstellung des Koordinierten Netzentwicklungsplans 2018 

§§ 62 bis 65 GWG 2011 enthalten die relevanten Bestimmungen für die Erstellung des österreichischen Koordinierten Netzentwicklungsplans (KNEP) und der jeweiligen Netzentwicklungspläne (NEP). Auf dieser Basis hat die Regulierungsbehörde (E-Control), unter Einbeziehung der Fernleitungsnetzbetreiber (FNB) und des Marktgebietsmanagers (MGM) und unter Berücksichtigung der Vorbereitungs-, Einreichungs- und Genehmigungspraxis der bisherigen KNEP, Leitlinien entwickelt, welche die wesentlichen Anforderungen für die Beurteilung von Projekten im KNEP 2018 gemäß §§ 62 ff GWG 2011 festhalten und zur Unterstützung einer effizienten und transparenten Verfahrensabwicklung dienen sollen. Diese Leitlinien dienen als Basis für die Einreichung von Projekten für den KNEP 2018 und sollen für diesen Prozess verwendet werden. Für die nächsten Prozesse können die Leitlinien auf Ansuchen von und in Abstimmung zwischen MGM/FNB/E-Control angepasst und weiterentwickelt werden. 

Diese Leitlinien lassen die in §§ 62 ff GWG 2011 festgelegten Rechte der Regulierungsbehörde und Pflichten der Fernleitungsnetzbetreiber (FNB) bzw. des MGM unberührt, insbesondere die Pflicht der Fernleitungsnetzbetreiber auf Verlangen der Regulierungsbehörde zu jedem Zeitpunkt eine Änderung seines bereits vorgelegten und noch nicht genehmigten Netzentwicklungsplans durchzuführen (§ 64 Abs. 5 GWG 2011).