How to switch supplier

There are a number of ways of shopping around for a suitable electricity supplier. A method that takes little time and costs nothing is E-Control's Tariff Calculator (German only). However, it cannot make price comparisons beyond an annual demand of 100,000 kWh, and as a result it currently only includes about 20 companies that serve large consumers.

Many suppliers offer bespoke rates and discounts to consumers whose demand exceeds 100,000 kWh — which often have load profile meters. If your company falls into this category you should approach your supplier of preference directly.
Once you have found a suitable supplier, switching involves only a few easy administrative steps, and a minimum of red tape.
This first step is to complete your chosen supplier's contract form and submit it. The new supplier will normally do the rest for you. Where this is the case, you will find a section of the form that lets you authorise the new supplier to carry out all the switching procedures on your behalf.

Please note: In principle any consumer can carry out a supplier switch without help from a supplier. If you take this route you will have to observe the Market Rules that determine how switches take place ( Chapter 5, supplier switches , German only); however, the rules are somewhat simplified for single customers.
In the interests of a smooth switch, it is important for the name of the party to the previous system access and supply contract to appear on the new supply contract, and for the latter to be signed by it. You should also take particular care to ensure that the company names are the same.
To purchase electricity from a new supplier you need to have terminated the old supply contract. The power of attorney you confer on the new supplier by signing the contract form enables it to terminate the previous contract on your behalf. The notice period must naturally be complied with. Please note that notice periods vary from supplier to supplier.
The new supplier notifies the previous one of your intention to switch, and initiates the termination of the old supply contract. Thereafter all the necessary information is exchanged between the new and former supplier, and the system operator, with the latter acting as a neutral interface. The unique identifier for your installations is the meter point reference number.

meter point reference number
Fig 1: meter point reference number

Your new supplier will register you with the system operator for switching at the next possible date, which is always the first day of a calendar month. Provided that all the information given by you about your previous supply contract is correct, and that there are no other obstacles such as a minimum term clause in the old agreement, the system operator will confirm the switching date and you will have a new electricity supplier from then on.

To ensure that you can really switch when you want, you need to pay attention to the notice periods and switching dates. This is particularly important with the limited term supply contracts which are common for large-scale consumers. A smooth switch and uninterrupted supply can only be guaranteed if you keep to the switching dates and conclude a new supply contract in good time. The supplier can only initiate a switch six or four weeks before the first day of the chosen month. You must sign the contract form and send it to the supplier by then. For the precise switching dates please consult the switching calendar (German only).
Supplier switches are subject to standard rules that E-Control has drawn up in consultation with the industry, which all suppliers and system operators must adhere to. These ensure that switching to a new supplier is quick, easy and reliable for all electricity consumers in Austria.
When switching you receive a final invoice from your previous supplier for the power used up to the switching date. If you do not have a (remotely read) load profile meter, some system operators will send someone to read your meter. However, there is also the option of self-reading and notifying the system operator of the reading. In the absence of a reading the system operator can use an estimate based on previous consumption.
In technical terms, everything stays the same. The monopoly system operator, which is responsible for network maintenance and meter reading, never changes, and you continue to pay it the same system charges, which are set by the regulator.
Contact details
If you have any questions or suggestions don't hesitate to contact us at lieferantenwechsel_strom@e-control.at or +43 1 24724-511.

Ablauf des Lieferantenwechsels

Es gibt mehrere Möglichkeiten, um sich einen geeigneten Stromlieferanten zu suchen. Eine schnelle und kostenlose Möglichkeit ist der Tarifkalkulator der E-Control. Der Tarifkalkulator kann jedoch nur Preisvergleiche bis zu einem Jahresstromverbrauch von 100.000 kWh erstellen. Derzeit sind daher dort nur etwa 20 Großkundenlieferanten registriert.

Doch gerade bei Großkunden mit einem Verbrauch von über 100.000 kWh, die oft auch einen Lastprofilzähler installiert haben, bieten sehr viele Lieferanten individuelle Tarifmodelle und Rabattmöglichkeiten an. In diesem Fall sollten Sie sich direkt an Ihren Wunschlieferanten wenden.
 
Wenn Sie dann den geeigneten Lieferanten gefunden haben, ist der Lieferantenwechsel sehr einfach, unbürokratisch und in wenigen Schritten erledigt.
 
Als Erstes müssen Sie nur das Vertragsformular des gewünschten Lieferanten ausfüllen und diesem zuschicken. Den Rest erledigt in den allermeisten Fällen der neue Lieferant für Sie. Auf dem Vertragsformular Ihres neuen Lieferanten finden Sie dann auch einen Abschnitt, in dem Sie ihm die Vollmacht erteilen, alle notwendigen Schritte für den Lieferantenwechsel für Sie durchzuführen.
 
Damit der Wechsel reibungslos verläuft, ist es wichtig, dass der Vertragspartner, auf dessen Namen der bisherige Netznutzungsvertrag und der Liefervertrag läuft, auch als Vertragspartner auf dem neuen Liefervertrag aufscheint und diesen unterzeichnet. Achten Sie hier besonders auf gleichlautende Firmenbezeichnungen etc.
 
Wenn Sie von einem neuen Lieferanten Strom beziehen möchten, muss Ihr alter Liefervertrag gekündigt werden. Durch die Vollmacht, die Sie mit der Unterzeichnung des Vertragsformulars dem neuen Lieferanten erteilt haben, kann dieser die Kündigung für Sie durchführen. Dabei muss natürlich die Kündigungsfrist des bisherigen Lieferanten eingehalten werden. Es ist zu beachten, dass die Lieferanten unterschiedlich lange Kündigungsfristen haben.
 
Der neue Lieferant informiert den alten Lieferanten über Ihren Wunsch zu wechseln und leitet die Kündigung des alten Liefervertrages ein. In weiterer Folge werden zwischen neuem Lieferanten, altem Lieferanten und Netzbetreiber alle notwendigen Daten ausgetauscht, wobei der Netzbetreiber als neutrale Schnittstelle fungiert. Als eindeutiges Identifizierungsmerkmal Ihrer Anlage dient dabei die Zählpunktbezeichnung.
 
Zählpunktsbezeichnung
Abb 1: Zählpunktbezeichnung

Ihr neuer Lieferant wird Sie beim Netzbetreiber zum Wechsel anmelden. Sofern Sie alle Informationen über Ihren bisherigen Stromvertrag richtig angegeben haben, und keine weiteren Hinderungsgründe wie z.B. eine Bindung beim bisherigen Lieferanten vorliegen, wird der Netzbetreiber Ihrem neuen Lieferanten den Termin bestätigen und Sie haben somit ab diesem Zeitpunkt einen neuen Stromlieferanten.

Damit Sie zu dem von Ihnen gewünschten Termin auch wirklich wechseln können, sollten Sie die jeweiligen Wechseltermine und Fristen beachten. Dies ist insbesondere bei im Großkundenbereich oftmals üblichen befristeten Lieferverträgen mit festgelegtem Vertragsende wichtig. Sie müssen dann, damit ein reibungsloser Wechsel und eine durchgehende Belieferung garantiert werden kann, die jeweiligen Wechseltermine einhalten und den neuen Liefervertrag rechtzeitig abschließen.
Der Lieferantenwechsel unterliegt einheitlichen Regeln. Dadurch wird gewährleistet, dass der Wechsel zu einem neuen Lieferanten für alle Stromkunden in Österreich schnell, sicher und unkompliziert über die Bühne geht.
 
Wenn Sie zu einem anderen Lieferanten wechseln, bekommen Sie von Ihrem bisherigen Lieferanten eine Endabrechnung über die Energie, die Sie bis zum Wechselstichtag verbraucht haben. Wenn Sie keinen (fernausgelesenen) Lastprofilzähler installiert haben, kommen manche Netzbetreiber in diesen Fällen zu Ihnen, um den Zähler abzulesen. Sie können den Zähler aber auch selbst ablesen und dem Netzbetreiber den Zählerstand bekannt geben. In jenen Fällen, in denen kein Zählerstand vorliegt, kann der Netzbetreiber den Zählerstand auch auf Basis der bisherigen Verbrauchswerte bestimmen.
 
Technisch ändert sich nichts: Der Netzbetreiber, der für die Instandhaltung und Wartung des Netzes sowie die Ablesung des Zählers zuständig ist, bleibt als Monopolist immer derselbe. Ihm zahlen Sie auch weiterhin dieselben Netznutzungstarife, die behördlich festgelegt sind.
 
Kontaktdetails:
 
Wir stehen Ihnen jederzeit gerne für weitere Fragen oder Anregungen unter lieferantenwechsel_strom@e-control.at bzw. +43 1 24 7 24 511 zur Verfügung.