Energy intervention measures in gas

Emergency intervention measures

E-Control is responsible for formulating and coordinating emergency intervention measures to safeguard natural gas supplies. To this end we constantly monitor security of supply.

In an emergency E-Control would do everything in its power to maintain gas supplies in Austria. It is E-Control’s task to prepare and coordinate intervention in the operation of gas storage, production and pipeline systems for the event that market-based measures should be insufficient to maintain supplies to all consumers.

E-Control’s emergency preparedness duties involve long-term planning and developing measures aimed at maintaining gas supplies in the event of an emergency. Such action could involve intervention in the gas production, storage and transportation industries, and in consumption (e.g. by appealing for energy saving or rationing).

E-Control is responsible for drawing up and coordinating intervention measures that can be enacted by order of the Minister of Economy, Family and Youth in the event of a crisis. The operational implementation of these measures is the responsibility of the market area managers, and of the relevant market players where their involvement is necessary.

To ensure that there is reliable data on which to base the preparation and implementation of emergency intervention measures, E-Control is empowered by section 11 para 2 Energielenkungsgesetz (Energy Intervention Powers Act) 1982 to order the reporting of data by market participants at periodic intervals.


We also report annually on the security of supply situation in Austria as part of our Market Report.

Energielenkung

Die E-Control ist für die Vorbereitung und Koordinierung der im Anlassfall vorzusehenden Lenkungsmaßnahmen zur Sicherstellung der Erdgasversorgung verantwortlich. Zu diesem Zweck monitort die E-Control laufend die Versorgungssicherheit.

In Krisenfällen werden von der E-Control alle Maßnahmen gesetzt, um die Versorgung Österreichs bestmöglich zu gewährleisten. Sollten marktkonforme Maßnahmen nicht ausreichen, um die Versorgung aller Kunden zu gewährleisten, sind operative Tätigkeiten im Speicher-, Produktions- und Netzbereich vorzubereiten bzw. zu koordinieren.

Unter Krisenvorsorge versteht man die vorsorgliche Planung und Vorbereitung von Maßnahmen zur Sicherstellung der Erdgasversorgung im Fall von krisenhaften Entwicklungen bzw. Situationen. Vorsorgemaßnahmen können sowohl im Produktions-, Speicher- und Transportbereich als auch im Bereich der Erdgasendverbraucher, z.B. durch Sparappelle, Kontingentierungen, getroffen werden.

Die Vorbereitung und Koordinierung allfälliger Energielenkungsmaßnahmen, die durch Verordnung des Bundesministers für Wirtschaft, Familie und Jugend im Krisenfall angeordnet werden können, erfolgt durch die E-Control. Die operative Durchführung der Maßnahmen obliegt den Regelzonenführern, unter Einbindung der relevanten Marktteilnehmer.

Zur Sicherstellung einer gesicherten Datenbasis für die Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Lenkungsmaßnahmen zur Krisenvorsorge ist die E-Control gemäß § 20b Abs 2 Energielenkungsgesetz 1982 ermächtigt, mittels Verordnung die Meldung von Daten in periodischen Abständen anzuordnen.


Ein jährlicher Monitoringreport zur Versorgungssicherheit ist Teil des Marktberichts der E-Control.