Energy efficiency

Energy efficiency

Manufacturing accounts for one-third of energy consumption in Austria, so energy efficiency is a particularly crucial issue for decision-makers in this sector.

Escalating power prices mean that energy-intensive industries have a big incentive to rein in consumption. Industry has already done a lot to increase energy efficiency. Here are two examples, from the steel and paper sectors, both of which are highly energy intensive.

The figure below shows the amount of energy required to produce 1,000 tonnes of paper. Improved efficiency has cut this amount by 25% between 1990 and 2008. Since then, the energy spent per 1,000 of paper production has been on the rise again, but even so remains 18% below the 1990 value.

 
 

Electricity consumption in the paper industry, 1990–2010 (TJ/1000 t)

Click the icon on the left to open the figure


The specific energy consumption figures for the steel industry present a similar picture. Since 1980, the energy consumed in the production of 1,000 tonnes of steel has fallen by 31%, but risen again by 18% in 2009. Production was down by one-fourth in that year, total final energy consumption only by 8%. This might be due to the economic crisis and to economies of scale.
 
 

Electricity consumption in the steel industry, 1990–2010 (TJ/1000 t)

Click the icon on the left to open the figure


For energy and climate policy, one of the central instruments in fostering energy efficiency is the European emissions trading system (ETS). This is particularly true for the energy intensive industries. The following energy efficiency issues are important considerations for manufacturers:
 
  • Technologies
  • Advisory services
  • Support payments

These issues are discussed in E-Control's green paper on energy efficiency, which also contains recommendations for boosting energy efficiency. The document is available from our German pages, where you’ll also find a list of links and downloads on the topic.

Energieeffizienz

Energieeffizienz

Das produzierende Gewerbe ist für 1/3 des jährlichen Energieverbrauches in Österreich verantwortlich. Gerade für diesen Sektor ist das Thema Energieeffizienz ein zentraler Entscheidungsfaktor.

Vor allem die energieintensiven Industrien haben aufgrund steigender Energiekosten einen wesentlichen Anreiz, den Energieverbrauch zu reduzieren. In der Vergangenheit wurden auch bereits eine Vielzahl von Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen in der Industrie umgesetzt – dazu zwei Beispiele für die energieintensiven Industrien der Stahl- und Papierproduktion.

Abbildung 1 zeigt den Energieverbrauch pro produzierte Einheit an Papier. Aufgrund der gesteigerten Effizienz ist der spezifische Energieverbrauch der Papierindustrie seit 1990 bis 2008 um 25 % gesunken. Seit 2008 gibt es wieder einen Anstieg am spezifischen Energieverbrauch, dennoch liegt der spezifische Energieverbrauch noch 18 % unter dem von 1990.

 
Bei der Ableitung des Energieverbrauches je produzierter Einheit bei der Stahlindustrie ergibt sich ein ähnliches Bild wie zuvor bei der Papierindustrie (vgl. Abbildung 2). Seit 1980 ist der spezifische Verbrauch um 31 % gesunken. 2009 stieg der spezifische Energieverbrauch um 18 % zum Vorjahr. Die Produktion sank in diesem Jahr um ein Viertel, der energetische Endverbrauch nur um 8 %. Eine mögliche Erklärung dafür sind die Wirtschaftskrise und Skaleneffekte.
 
 

Spezifischer Verbrauch der Stahlindustrie von 1990 bis 2010 in TJ/1000 t

durch Klicken auf das Symbol öffnen Sie das Diagramm


Aus energie- und klimapolitischer Sicht ist für die Industrie das europäische Emissionshandelssystem ein zentrales Instrument. Dies gilt vor allem für die oben genannten energieintensiven Industrien. Insgesamt sind für das produzierende Gewerbe im Zusammenhang mit Energieeffizienz die folgenden Themen von Bedeutung:
 
  • Technologien
  • Beratungen
  • Förderungen

    Im Grünbuch Energieeffizienz der E-Control werden diese Themen angesprochen und Vorschläge zu deren Forcierung unterbreitet:
     
    Weiterführende Links und Dokumente, mit einer Vielzahl vertiefender Informationen zu diesen Themen, finden Sie unter Links & Downloads .