Storing natural gas

Storing natural gas

Given Austria's geological set-up, the only type of underground storage available are pore storage facilities. As opposed to cavern storage sites that are mostly used to cover peaks, pore storage is particularly useful to balance seasonal consumption swings.

At the time of liberalisation, the only two storage system operators active in Austria were OMV and RAG. New storage capacity has been created in RAG's concession area, with RAG operating the facilities but not acting as storage undertaking in these cases. This type of cooperation was first applied when the Haidach storage facility was commissioned in 2007: RAG acts as the operator, Wingas GmbH & Co KG and Gazprom Export as marketers. The model was repeated in 7-fields, where RAG again is the operator of the facility but marketing is handled by Uniper Energy Storage (formerly known as E.ON Gas Storage). This type of cooperation has meant that there are now three more storage undertakings that market products on the Austrian storage markets.

The transposition of Article 15 of Directive 2009/73/EC into national law meant legal and organisational unbundling for storage system operators. Storage system operators' independence must be guaranteed through measures such as separation from the vertically integrated undertaking in terms of company law, sufficient resources, de facto independence of executives, establishment of a compliance programme and a compliance officer, and the confidential treatment of sensitive business information. The unbundled storage undertakings that now market capacity in Austria are: astora GmbH & Co KG, Uniper Energy Storage GmbH, GSA LLC, OMV Gas Storage GmbH, and RAG Energy Storage GmbH.

The Gaswirtschaftsgesetz (Natural Gas Act) 2011 also introduced new rules for system utilisation by storage system operators: since 1 January 2013, storage system operators have had to book the maximum storage entry and exit capacity that they need during the next calendar year with the system operator once a year.

Since 2010, storage capacity has been significantly increased through the expansion of 7Fields, Haidach, and Aigelsbrunn. Thus, the increase of the working gas volume from 2010 to 2015 was around 81%. Following the shutdown of the Thann storage facility on 1 April 2017 for investment reasons, the total working gas volume in November 2018 was 92.2 TWh and then rose to 92.8 TWh due to the capacity increase at the Haidach storage facility as of 1 April 2019 and to 93.6 TWh due to the capacity increase at the 7 Fields storage facility as of 1 October 2019.
Also in 2019, capacity was reallocated in the 7Fields storage facility, whereby RAG Energy Storage GmbH now also holds storage capacity there, in addition to Uniper Energy Storage GmbH. At the same time, data of the Nussdorf/Zagling storage facility is reported together with the 7Fields storage facility and no longer separately. This is not least due to the organisational changes mentioned above, as the Nussdorf/Zagling storage facility has been part of 7Fields since the beginning.

Due to additional drilling, there was a capacity increase in both the Haidach and in the 7Fields storage facility in 2020. In Haidach, capacity was increased by around 1.4 TWh as of 1 April 2020 and divided between the two capacity marketers GSA LLC (1/3) and astora (2/3). The additional injection rate of 563 MWh/h in total was allocated to the two storage undertakings in the aforementioned ratio. In 7Fields, storage capacity increased by 0.6 TWh as of 1 August 2020, 100% of which was taken over by RAG Energy Storage for marketing. Hence, this results in a total working gas volume of 95.5 TWh at the end of 2020.

With approx. 26% (25.2 TWh) working gas volume, OMV Gas Storage continues to have the largest share in storage capacity in relation to Austria and with approx. 40 % in relation to the storage facilities connected to the Market Area East.
The Haidach storage facility does not currently have a direct connection to the market area but is instead filled through the German gas network; it is possible to use these gas volumes for the Austrian market, where they appear as imports. In addition, the Slovak storage site LAB is connected to the virtual trading point through the MAB line; the storage system operators for this facility are Nafta and Pozagas.

Storage capacities in Austria, November 2020

Storage system operator/ Storage Injection rate in MWh/h Share of total injection rate Withdrawal rate in MWh/h Share of total withdrawal rate Working gas volume in MWh Share of total working gas volume
OMV Gas Storage Schönkirchen 7.345 20,95% 10.848 24,59% 20.720.000 21,70%
OMV Gas Storage Tallesbrunn 1.413 4,03% 1.808 4,10% 4.520.000 4,73%
OMV Gas Storage in total 8.758 24,98% 12.656 28,68% 25.240.000 26,43%
RAG Energy Storage Puchkirchen/Haag 5.900 16,83% 5.900 13,37% 12.200.000 12,77%
RAG Energy Storage Haidach 5 227 0,65% 227 0,51% 181.000 0,19%
RAG Energy Storage Aigelsbrunn 567 1,62% 567 1,29% 1.500.000 1,57%
RAG Energy Storage 7Fields 1.700 4,85% 2.600 5,89% 6.200.000 6,49%
RAG Energy Storage in total 8.394 23,94% 9.294 21,06% 20.081.000 21,03%
Uniper Energy Storage 7fields 6.082 17,35% 9.123 20,67% 17.515.000 18,34%
Storage Capacity Market Area East in total 23.234   31.073   62.836.000  
Astora Haidach 4.132 11,79% 4.344 9,85% 11.345.133 11,88%
GSA LLC Haidach 7.694 21,95% 8.708 19,73% 21.318.900 22,32%
Storage Capacity Austria in total 35.060 100,00% 44.124 100,00% 95.500.033 100,00%

17 November 2020; Sources: Websites of the storage system operators, https://agsi.gie.eu

Erdgasspeicher in Österreich

Erdgasspeicher in Österreich

Aufgrund der geologischen Voraussetzungen gibt es in Österreich ausschließlich Porenspeicher, die sich aufgrund ihres umfangreichen Speichervolumens vor allem zur Abdeckung saisonaler Bedarfsschwankungen, im Gegensatz zu Kavernenspeicher zur Spitzenabdeckung, eignen.

Zu Beginn der Liberalisierung waren zwei Speicherunternehmen in Österreich tätig, OMV und RAG. Im Laufe der vergangenen Jahre wurden zusätzliche Speicherkapazitäten im Konzessionsgebiet der RAG geschaffen. Dabei ist RAG nicht als Speicherunternehmen aufgetreten, sondern als technischer Betreiber der Speicher. Erstmals fand diese Form der Zusammenarbeit 2007 bei der Inbetriebnahme des Speicher Haidach statt, für den RAG als technischer Betreiber und Wingas GmbH & Co KG und Gazprom Export als Vermarkter der Kapazitätsrechte agierten, gefolgt vom Projekt 7 Fields, ebenfalls mit RAG als technischen Speicherbetreiber und Uniper Energy Storage (vormals E.ON Gas Storage) als Kapazitätsvermarkter. Damit sind neben OMV und RAG drei weitere Speicherunternehmen, die Speicherprodukte vermarkten, in den österreichischen Speichermarkt eingetreten.

Im Zuge der Umsetzung des Art 15 RL 2009/73/EG in nationales Recht hatten Speicherunternehmen eine gesellschaftsrechtliche und organisatorische Entflechtung vorzunehmen. Die Unabhängigkeit des Speicherunternehmens muss dabei u.a. durch eine gesellschaftsrechtliche Ausgliederung aus dem vertikal integrierten Erdgasunternehmen, durch Ressourcenausstattung, Handlungsunabhängigkeit des Leitungspersonals, Aufstellung eines Gleichbehandlungsprogramms und -beauftragten sowie der vertraulichen Behandlung von wirtschaftlich sensiblen Informationen sichergestellt werden. Die entflochtenen Speicherunternehmen, von denen die Speicherkapazitäten vermarktet werden, sind nun astora GmbH & Co KG, Uniper Energy Storage GmbH, GSA LLC, OMV Gas Storage GmbH und RAG Energy Storage GmbH.

Auch beim Netzzugang gab es im Zusammenhang mit dem Gaswirtschaftsgesetz 2011 und in Folge des neuen Marktmodells eine grundlegende Änderung, nämlich dahingehend, dass seit 1.1.2013 nunmehr das Speicherunternehmen beim Netzbetreiber einmal jährlich für das jeweils folgende Kalenderjahr die für die Ein- und Ausspeicherung maximal vorzuhaltende Kapazität bucht.

Die Speicherkapazitäten wurden seit 2010 durch den Ausbau von 7Fields, Haidach und Aigelsbrunn wesentlich erhöht. So betrug die Steigerung des Arbeitsgasvolumens von 2010 bis 2015 ca. 81%. Nach der investitionsbedingten Schließung des Speichers Thann per 1.4.2017 betrug das Arbeitsgasvolumen in Summe im November 2018 zwischenzeitlich 92,2 TWh und stieg dann aufgrund der Kapazitätserhöhung per 1.4.2019 im Speicher Haidach auf 92,8 TWh sowie aufgrund der Kapazitätserhöhung per 1.10.2019 im Speicher 7 Fields auf 93,6 TWh.
Ebenfalls 2019 kam es zu einer Umschichtung von Kapazitäten im Speicher 7Fields, sodass neben Uniper Energy Storage GmbH nun auch RAG Energy Storage GmbH Speicherkapazitäten dort hält. Parallel dazu wird der Speicher Nussdorf/Zagling zahlentechnisch gemeinsam mit dem Speicher 7Fields ausgewiesen und nicht mehr wie bisher separat. Dies erfolgte nicht zuletzt auch aufgrund der erwähnten organisatorischen Änderungen, nachdem der Speicher Nussdorf/Zagling ohnehin seit Beginn Teil von 7Fields war.

Aufgrund einer zusätzlichen Bohrung kam es im Jahr 2020 sowohl im Speicher Haidach als auch im Speicher 7Fields zu einer Kapazitätserhöhung. In Haidach wurden die Kapazitäten per 1.4.2020 um ca. 1,4 TWh erhöht und auf die zwei Kapazitätsvermarkter GSA LLC (1/3) und astora (2/3) aufgeteilt. Die zusätzliche Einspeicherrate im Ausmaß von insgesamt 563 MWh/h wurde an die beiden Speicherunternehmen im genannten Verhältnis vergeben. In 7Fields betrug die Erhöhung der Speicherkapazitäten per 1.8.2020 ca. 0,6 TWh, wobei diese zu 100% von der RAG Energy Storage zur Vermarktung übernommen wurden. Somit ergibt sich mit Jahresende 2020 ein gesamtes Arbeitsgasvolumen in Höhe von 95,5 TWh.

Mit ca. 26% (25,2 TWh) Arbeitsgasvolumen hält OMV Gas Storage nach wie vor den größten Anteil an Speicherkapazitäten in Bezug auf Österreich und mit ca. 40 % in Bezug auf die an das Marktgebiet Ost angebundenen Speicher.

Der Speicher Haidach, der derzeit noch nicht direkt an das Marktgebiet angeschlossen ist, wird über das deutsche Erdgasnetz befüllt und die Nutzung der Speichermengen für den österreichischen Markt über den Import aus Deutschland ermöglicht. Zudem ist auch der slowakische Speicherkomplex LAB an den virtuellen Handelspunkt über die Leitung MAB angebunden, Speicherunternehmen sind Nafta und Pozagas.

Speicherunternehmen und Speicherkapazitäten in Österreich, Stand November 2020

Speicherunternehmen/ Speicher Einspeicherrate in MWh/h Anteil an gesamter Einspeicherrate Entnahmerate in MWh/h Anteil an gesamter Entnahmerate Arbeitsgasvolumen in MWh Anteil an ges. Arbeitsgasvol.
OMV Gas Storage Schönkirchen 7.345 20,95% 10.848 24,59% 20.720.000 21,70%
OMV Gas Storage Tallesbrunn 1.413 4,03% 1.808 4,10% 4.520.000 4,73%
OMV Gas Storage gesamt  8.758 24,98% 12.656 28,68% 25.240.000 26,43%
RAG Energy Storage Puchkirchen/Haag 5.900 16,83% 5.900 13,37% 12.200.000 12,77%
RAG Energy Storage Haidach 5 227 0,65% 227 0,51% 181.000 0,19%
RAG Energy Storage Aigelsbrunn 567 1,62% 567 1,29% 1.500.000 1,57%
RAG Energy Storage 7Fields 1.700 4,85% 2.600 5,89% 6.200.000 6,49%
RAG Energy Storage gesamt 8.394 23,94% 9.294 21,06% 20.081.000 21,03%
Uniper Energy Storage 7fields 6.082 17,35% 9.123 20,67% 17.515.000 18,34%
Summe Marktgebiet Ost 23.234   31.073   62.836.000  
Astora Haidach 4.132 11,79% 4.344 9,85% 11.345.133 11,88%
GSA LLC Haidach 7.694 21,95% 8.708 19,73% 21.318.900 22,32%
Summe Österreich 35.060 100,00% 44.124 100,00% 95.500.033 100,00%

Stand 17. November 2020; Quelle: Homepages der Speicherunternehmen, https://agsi.gie.eu