Electricity

Electricity

The Austrian electricity market was liberalised on 1 October 2001. Electricity is no longer supplied by monopolistic, vertically integrated companies but is instead organised through the close coordination of a whole range of market players. The processes, relationships and cooperation between these market participants operate in line with the market rules.

The following types of players participate in the Austrian electricity market:
 
  • Control area operators (CAOs)
  • Imbalance settlement responsibles (ISRs)
  • Transmission system operators (TSOs)
  • Balancing responsible parties (BRPs)
  • Distribution system operators (DSOs)
  • Suppliers
  • Generators
  • Electricity wholesalers, retailers and traders
As the regulator it is for E-Control to create fair conditions for competition in the electricity sector. The Austrian regulatory regime is designed to be transparent and non-discriminatory. Decisions are taken in consultation with all concerned.

The content in this area of our site is chiefly designed for market participants. It contains the documents, data and information they need to comply with the rules of the Austrian electricity market. If you are interested in the Austrian electricity and natural gas markets from a household consumer or business consumers perspective, please consult the corresponding areas of our website.

Willkommen im Bereich Strom

Seit der vollen Strommarktöffnung Österreichs am 1. Oktober 2001 werden die Versorgung mit elektrischer Energie und der österreichische Elektrizitätsmarkt nicht mehr durch die monopolistischen, vertikal integrierten Unternehmen geprägt, sondern im gut koordinierten Zusammenspiel aller Marktteilnehmer gestaltet. Die relevanten Prozesse, die Beziehungen und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den einzelnen Marktteilnehmer sind in den Marktregeln festgelegt.

Als Marktteilnehmer gelten die folgenden Akteure auf dem österreichischen Strommarkt:

Es ist die Aufgabe der Regulierungsbehörde E-Control, faire Rahmenbedingungen für den Wettbewerb im Elektrizitätssektor zu schaffen. Die Regulierung wird transparent und unter dem Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung gestaltet. Entscheidungen werden unter Einbeziehung aller Betroffenen getroffen.

Die Inhalte auf den folgenden Seiten richten sich insbesondere an die Marktteilnehmer, die hier alle notwendigen und relevanten Unterlagen, Daten und Informationen für das regelkonforme Funktionieren des österreichischen Strommarktes finden. Themen und Fragen, die vor allem Haushaltskunden - oder Großkunden aus Industrie und Gewerbe betreffen, werden in den jeweiligen Bereichen der E-Control Homepage behandelt.