Energy poverty in Austria

In recent years, energy poverty has become a catchword in the Austrian debate about the affordability of energy in the light of increasing gas and electricity prices. And yet the notion of energy poverty has neither been (uniformly) defined nor properly measured in Austria. However, a number of proposed measures are to ensure that energy poverty in Austria is pushed back through social and energy policies as well as energy utilities and private households.

E-Control Austria contributes to the ongoing debate about energy poverty in Austria by determining the extent of this phenomenon among the Austrian population in accordance with its regulatory tasks, which were extended by the Elektrizitätswirtschafts- und -organisationsgesetz (Electricity Act) 2010 and the Gaswirtschaftsgesetz (Natural Gas Act) 2011. If deemed necessary, E-Control will also propose measures to counteract energy poverty.

To accomplish these objectives, E-Control is presenting this paper with definitions and test measurements of energy poverty. Initially, a group of four Austrian and German experts in the fields of research and statistics were invited to critically comment on a previous version of this paper. The final version now reflects the valuable suggestions and ideas gained


Energy poverty in Austria (83.0 MB)

  • Definitions and indicators

Energiearmut in Österreich

Energiearmut in Österreich

Energiearmut ist in den letzten Jahren zu einem geläufigen Schlagwort in der österreichischen Debatte um die Leistbarkeit von Energie bei steigenden Preisen von Strom und Gas geworden. Gleichzeitig muss festgestellt werden, dass es keine (einheitliche) Definition des Begriffs Energiearmut in Österreich gibt und eine solide Messung des Phänomens nicht stattgefunden hat. Eine Vielzahl von vorgeschlagenen Maßnahmen soll jedoch gewährleisten, dass sowohl durch die Sozial- und Energiepolitik als auch durch Energieversorgungsunternehmen und private Haushalte Energiearmut in Österreich zurückgedrängt werden kann.

Die Energie-Control Austria nimmt die anhaltende Debatte um Energiearmut in Österreich zum Anlass, der Erfassung des Ausmaßes von Energiearmut unter der österreichischen Bevölkerung im Rahmen ihrer durch das Elektrizitätswirtschafts- und –organisationsgesetzes 2010 (ElWOG 2010) und des Gaswirtschaftsgesetzes 2011 (GWG 2011) erweiterten Regulierungsaufgaben vertiefend nachzugehen, und, wenn als notwendig erachtet, Maßnahmen gegen Energiearmut vorzuschlagen.

Hierzu stellt die E-Control nun ein Papier über Definitionen und Messversuche von Energiearmut vor. Dazu ist auch eine Gruppe von vier Gutachtern aus Wissenschaft und Statistik aus Österreich und Deutschland eingeladen worden, eine frühere Version kritisch zu kommentieren. Die wertvollen Anregungen und gewonnene Einsichten sind in dieses Papier eingeflossen.