International activities

E-Control has substantially contributed to the establishment of the European Internal Energy Market. We have been successfully involved at all levels of international regulation since E-Control was established in 2001. The intensity of our international work has increased further since the third energy package came into force.

E-Control is member of the Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER) and of course we are also active in the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (ACER), established by the 3rd package. E-Control staff members chair several CEER and ACER task forces and actively enhance European cooperation. 

Liberalisation of the energy markets at European level aims to create internal markets for electricity and gas. The European Regulators’ Group for Electricity and Gas (ERGEG), a forerunner to ACER, initiated the so-called Regional Initiatives. As a stepping stone towards the final goal, seven electricity and three gas regions work on first integrating their regional markets. Austria's location in the heart of Europe makes E-Control an active member of several of these electricity regions and of the gas region South South-East Europe.

The European Commission created a number of energy fora at European level, such as the Florence Forum for electricity or the Madrid Forum for gas, which are also meant to contribute to the harmonisation of energy markets throughout Europe and to bring all stakeholders together for fruitful discussions. After some experience with the gas and electricity fora, the Commission also created a forum dedicated to consumer issues. It takes place annually in London. The youngest is the Copenhagen Forum, which is all about infrastructure. E-Control has actively provided input to these fora from the very start, contributing to the future development of energy markets and their liberalisation in Europe.

The Energy Community is an international organisation which brings together the European Union and its neighbours to create an integrated pan-European energy market. As Austria is a participating country of the Energy Community, E-Control actively participates  in the so called Energy Community Regulatory Board (ECRB), the independent regional body of energy regulators in the Energy Community and beyond. It is the coordination platform for exchange of knowledge and development of best practices for regulators. 

https://www.energy-community.org/

ERRA

E-Control is also a full member of the Energy Regulators Regional Association (ERRA). ERRA is a regional association of energy regulators from all over the world and has - with Austria - 33 full and 10 extraordinary members.
ERRA is committed to enhancing and strengthening the exchange of information and experience amongst its members and has established itself as an important cooperation network amongst regulatory authorities.

Die E-Control international

Die E-Control ist wesentlich an der Entwicklung des europäischen Energiebinnenmarktes beteiligt. Seit ihrer Gründung 2001 ist sie intensiv in die europäische Regulierungsarbeit eingebunden und dort auch sehr erfolgreich tätig. Aufgrund der Vorgaben des 3. Energie-Binnenmarktpakets hat sich diese internationale Verflechtung noch intensiviert.

Die E-Control ist unter anderem in der europäischen Vereinigung der Regulatoren (CEER, Council of European Energy Regulators) vertreten. Dr. Wolfgang Urbtantschitsch ist Vizepräsident und Teil des strategischen Leitungsgremiums von CEER und vertritt die Organisation nach außen.  ExpertInnen der E-Control leiten auf europäischer Ebene eine Reihe von CEER- und ACER-Arbeitsgruppen zu Themen wie Versorgungssicherheit im Bereich Strom und Gas, Cyber Security oder Strominfrastruktur. 

Ziel der europäischen Marktliberalisierung ist die Schaffung eines gemeinsamen Binnenmarktes für Strom und Gas. Auf Initiative der damaligen European Regulators' Group for Electricity and Gas (ERGEG) wurden die Regionalen Initiativen ins Leben gerufen, die die Marktintegration vorerst in sieben regionalen Strom- und drei regionalen Gasmärkten vorantreiben sollen. Durch die geopolitische Situation Österreichs ist die E-Control aktives Mitglied in mehreren Stromregionen und in der Gasregion Süd-Südost.

Die europäischen Energiefora wie etwa das Florenz-Forum für Strom oder das Madrid-Forum für Gas wurden von der Europäischen Kommission ins Leben gerufen, um zur Harmonisierung der Energiemärkte beizutragen und alle Interessierten und Marktteilnehmer an einen Tisch zu bringen. Einige Jahre später schuf die Kommission ein weiteres Forum, in London, bei dem sich alles um Konsumentenrechte dreht. Das neueste Forum, in Kopenhagen, ist dem Thema Infrastruktur gewidmet. Bei all diesen Fora leistet die E-Control regelmäßig aktiven Input und trägt somit maßgeblich zur zukünftigen Entwicklung der Energieliberalisierung in Europa bei.

Die Energiegemeinschaft ist eine internationale Organisation, die die Europäische Union und ihre östlichen Nachbarn zusammenbringt. Ihr Ziel ist die Schaffung eines integrierten, paneuropäischen Energiemarktes. Da Österreich als "Participating Country" Teil der Energiegemeinschaft ist, beteiligt sich die E-Control aktiv am sogenannten "Energy Community Regulatory Board" (ECRB), dem unabhängigen Regulierungsausschuss der Energiegemeinschaft. Er dient als Koordinationsplattform der Regulierungsbehörden und ermöglicht einen effizienten Informations- und Wissensaustausch zwischen den Mitgliedern.

https://www.energy-community.org/

ERRA

Seit Oktober 2018 ist die E-Control auch Vollmitglied der Energy Regulators Regional Association (ERRA). ERRA ist ein regionaler Zusammenschluss von Energieregulierungsbehörden weltweit und hat - mit Österreich - nun 33 Voll- und 10 außerordentliche Mitglieder. 
ERRA hat sich dem Informations- und Erfahrungstausch unter ihren Mitgliedern verschrieben und hat sich als wichtiges Kooperationsnetzwerk von Regulierungsbehörden etabliert.