Breaches

Breaches

REMIT lays down a number of obligations and prohibitions for market participants. Penalties for breaches of REMIT are, however, imposed at national level in line with Article 13 REMIT. In Austria, these penalties have been transposed into national legislation in the Elektrizitätswirtschafts- und -organisationsgesetz (Electricity Act) 2010 and the Gaswirtschaftsgesetz (Natural Gas Act) 2011. The penalties imposed by these Acts for breaches of the different provisions of REMIT are detailed below.

Article Navigation Portlet

  • Market manipulation
  • Insider trading
  • Disclosure of inside information
  • Reporting obligations
  • Registration

Market manipulation

Market manipulation

According to Article 5 REMIT, any engagement in, or attempt to engage in, market manipulation on wholesale energy markets is prohibited. “Market manipulation” and “attempt to manipulate the market” are understood to mean the facts and circumstances set forth in Article 2 items (2) and (3) REMIT. Any breach of the prohibition of market manipulation pursuant to Article 5 REMIT in conjunction with Article 2 items (2) and (3) REMIT constitutes an administrative offence under the Electricity Act 2010 and/or the Natural Gas Act 2011 and is punishable by a fine of up to EUR 150,000.

Insider trading

Article 3 REMIT prohibits insider trading in wholesale energy products. Whoever uses inside information in the manner described in Article 3(1) REMIT, but without intending to generate a pecuniary advantage for themselves or a third party, thereby counteracting the insider trading prohibition if they know or ought to know pursuant to Article 3(2)(e) REMIT that it is inside information as defined in Article 2(1) REMIT is deemed to have committed an administrative offence under the Electricity Act 2010 and/or the Natural Gas Act 2011 and may be fined up to EUR 50,000.

Whoever uses inside information in the manner described in Article 3(1) REMIT, but while intending to generate a pecuniary advantage for themselves or a third party, thereby counteracting the insider trading prohibition if they know or ought to know pursuant to Article 3(2)(e) REMIT that it is inside information as defined in Article 2(1) REMIT is deemed to have committed an administrative offence under the Electricity Act 2010 and/or the Natural Gas Act 2011 and may be fined up to EUR 150,000.

Persons as defined in Article 3(2)(a) to (d) REMIT, i.e. members of the administrative, management or supervisory bodies of an undertaking, persons with holdings in the capital of an undertaking, persons with access to information through the exercise of their employment, profession or duties, and persons who have acquired such information through criminal activity, who use inside information as defined in Article 2(1) REMIT in relation to wholesale energy products as defined in Article 2(4) REMIT with the intent of generating a pecuniary advantage for themselves or a third party by

using that information by acquiring or disposing of, for their own account or for the account of a third party, either directly or indirectly, wholesale energy products to which that information relates;

  1. disclosing that information to any other person unless such disclosure is made in the normal course of the exercise of their employment, profession or duties; or
  2. recommending or inducing another person, on the basis of inside information, to acquire or dispose of wholesale energy products to which such information relates;
  3. are deemed to have committed an offence punishable by court and can be punished by the court with imprisonment of up to three years.

Persons as defined in Article 3(2)(a) to (d) REMIT who possess inside information as defined in Article 2(1) REMIT in relation to wholesale energy products as defined in Article 2(4) REMIT and use such information, but without intending to generate a pecuniary advantage for themselves or a third party, by

  1. using that information by acquiring or disposing of, for their own account or for the account of a third party, either directly or indirectly, wholesale energy products to which that information relates;
  2. disclosing that information to any other person unless such disclosure is made in the normal course of the exercise of their employment, profession or duties; or
  3. recommending or inducing another person, on the basis of inside information, to acquire or dispose of wholesale energy products to which such information relates;

are deemed to have committed an offence punishable by court and can be punished by the court with imprisonment of up to six months or payment of a fine of up to 360 daily rates.

Disclosure of inside information

Disclosure of inside information

Article 4 REMIT imposes an obligation for market participants to disclose inside information in accordance with the provisions of REMIT. Any breach of this disclosure obligation constitutes an administrative offence under the Electricity Act 2010 and/or the Natural Gas Act 2011 and is punishable by a fine of up to EUR 50,000. A breach is deemed to exist where a person or entity

  • in contravention of Article 4(1) REMIT fails to publish inside information, to publish it correctly, to publish it in full, to publish it effectively or to publish it in a timely manner;
  • in contravention of Article 4(2) REMIT fails to submit inside information, to submit it correctly, to submit it in full or to submit it without delay;
  • in contravention of Article 4(3) REMIT fails to ensure simultaneous, complete and effective public disclosure of inside information.

According to section 10a Electricity Act 2010 and section 10a Natural Gas Act 2011, any market participant obliged to publish inside information pursuant to Article 4 REMIT is required to submit such information to E-Control at the same time as publishing it. Whoever fails to comply with their obligation to notify inside information pursuant to section 10a is deemed to have committed an administrative offence and may be fined up to EUR 10,000.

Reporting obligations

Reporting obligations

Article 8 REMIT provides for comprehensive data collection by ACER. Such data relate to wholesale energy market transactions, including orders to trade, as well as information related to the capacity and use of facilities for production, storage, consumption or transmission of electricity or natural gas or related to the capacity and use of LNG facilities, including planned or unplanned unavailability of these facilities, for the purpose of monitoring trading in wholesale energy markets. Any breach of this reporting obligation constitutes an administrative offence under the Electricity Act 2010 and/or the Natural Gas Act 2011 and is punishable with a fine of up to EUR 50,000. A breach is deemed to exist where a person or entity

  • in contravention of Article 8(1) REMIT in conjunction with implementing legislation in accordance with Article 8(2) REMIT fails to submit a record mentioned therein, to submit it correctly, to submit it in due time or to submit it in full;
  • in contravention of Article 8(5) REMIT in conjunction with implementing legislation in accordance with Article 8(6) REMIT fails to submit information mentioned therein, to submit it correctly, to submit it in due time or to submit it in full.

Article 15 REMIT requires any person professionally arranging transactions in wholesale energy products who reasonably suspects that a transaction might breach Article 3 or 5 REMIT to notify the national regulatory authority without further delay. Whoever, in contravention of Article 15 REMIT, fails to inform the regulatory authority, to inform it correctly, to inform it in full or to inform it in due time is deemed to have committed an administrative offence and may be fined up to EUR 50,000.

According to section 25a(2) E-Control-Gesetz (E-Control Act), E-Control requests and collects data and information it needs to fulfil the responsibilities it is charged with pursuant to REMIT and to monitor trading in wholesale energy products at national level and to monitor compliance with all obligations and prohibitions laid down by REMIT. For that purpose, section 25a(2) E-Control Act provides that E-Control must issue an ordinance to determine the parties to whom reporting obligations apply as well as the frequency, scope and format of the reporting obligations. That provision was implemented into law in the Energiegroßhandelsdaten-Verordnung (Ordinance on Energy Wholesale Data Collection). Whoever fails to submit data as ordered by an ordinance pursuant to section 25a(2) E-Control Act is deemed to have committed an administrative offence and may be fined up to EUR 10,000.

According to section 24(2) E-Control Act, the regulatory authority, in exercising its monitoring tasks set out in section 24(1) E-Control Act, may instruct by way of an official decision that compliance with the law be restored within an appropriate period of time. Whoever fails to comply with official decisions issued pursuant to section 24(2) E-Control Act for the scope of that Federal Act or any conditions, time limits and stipulations included therein is deemed to have committed an administrative offence and may be fined up to EUR 75,000.

According to section 25a(3) E-Control Act, exchanges and any other persons that professionally arrange transactions for the Austrian market must provide to E-Control all information it requires to fulfil its responsibilities and must support it in executing investigations. If there is suspicion that rules included in the exchange’s scope of duties, especially trade rules, as well as rules that lie in the jurisdiction of E-Control have been violated, both parties must cooperate and make relevant information available to each other. E-Control is authorised to order the exchange and any other persons that professionally arrange transactions for the Austrian market to cease to carry out investigations or any other measures if they complicate or obstruct the investigation of a case pursuant to Article 3 or 5 REMIT. Whoever fails to comply with its information and cooperation obligations pursuant to section 25a(3) E-Control Act is deemed to have committed an administrative offence and may be fined up to EUR 10,000.

Registration

Registration

Article 9(1) REMIT provides that market participants entering into transactions which are required to be reported to ACER in accordance with Article 8(1) must register with the national regulatory authority in the member state in which they are established or resident or, if they are not established or resident in the Union, in the member state in which they are active. Whoever, in contravention of Article 9(1) REMIT in conjunction with Article 9(4) REMIT, fails to register with the regulatory authority or fails to do so in due time is deemed to have committed an administrative offence and may be fined up to EUR 50,000.

Article 9(1)(2) REMIT provides that a market participant may register only with one national regulatory authority. Whoever, in contravention of Article 9(1)(2) REMIT, registers with more than one national regulatory authority is deemed to have committed an administrative offence and may be fined up to EUR 50,000.

Article 9(5) REMIT requires market participants referred to in Article 9(1) REMIT to communicate promptly to the national regulatory authority any change which has taken place as regards the information provided in the registration form. Whoever, in contravention of Article 9(5) REMIT, fails to notify a change in the information necessary for registration without delay is deemed to have committed an administrative offence and may be fined up to EUR 50,000.

Breadcrumbnavigation

Navigation umschalten

Ahndung von Verstößen

Ahndung von Verstößen

Die REMIT definiert verschiedene Pflichten und Verbote für Marktteilnehmer. Die Sanktionierung von Verstößen gegen die Verordnung erfolgt jedoch gemäß Artikel 13 der REMIT auf nationaler Ebene. In Österreich hat der Gesetzgeber diese Sanktionen im Elektrizitätswirtschafts- und –organisationsgesetz (ElWOG) bzw. im Gaswirtschaftsgesetz (GWG) umgesetzt. Diese sehen für die verschiedenen Verstöße gegen die Bestimmungen der REMIT die unten angeführten Strafausmaße vor.

Article Navigation Portlet

  • Marktmanipulation
  • Insider-Handel
  • Veröffentlichung von Insider-Information
  • Meldepflichten
  • Registrierung

Marktmanipulation

Marktmanipulation

Art. 5 der REMIT verbietet die Vornahme oder den Versuch der Vornahme von Marktmanipulation auf den Energiegroßhandelsmärkten. Als Marktmanipulation und Versuch der Marktmanipulation sind dabei die in Art. 2 Z 2 und 3 der REMIT angeführten Tatbestände zu verstehen. Der Verstoß gegen das Verbot der Marktmanipulation gemäß Art. 5 der REMIT in Verbindung mit Art. 2 Z 2 und Z 3 der REMIT stellte eine Verwaltungsübertretung gemäß ElWOG bzw. GWG dar und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 150.000 Euro bestraft werden.

Insider-Handel

Insider-Handel

Art. 3 der REMIT verbietet den Insider-Handel in Bezug auf ein Energiegroßhandelsprodukt. Wer auf die in Art. 3 Abs. 1 der REMIT bezeichnete Weise, jedoch ohne den Vorsatz, sich oder einem Dritten einen Vermögenvorteil zu verschaffen, Insider-Information verwendet und damit dem Verbot des Insider-Handels zuwiderhandelt, sofern er gemäß Art. 3 Abs. 2 lit. e der REMIT wissen oder wissen müsste, dass es sich um Insider-Informationen im Sinne von Art. 2 Z 1 der handelt, begeht eine Verwaltungsübertretung gemäß ElWOG bzw. GWG und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 50.000 Euro bestraft werden.

Wer auf die in Art. 3 Abs. 1 der REMIT bezeichnete Weise, mit dem Vorsatz, sich oder einem Dritten einen Vermögenvorteil zu verschaffen, Insider-Information verwendet und damit dem Verbot des Insider-Handels zuwiderhandelt, sofern er gemäß Art. 3 Abs. 2 lit. e der REMIT wissen oder wissen müsste, dass es sich um Insider-Informationen im Sinne von Art. 2 Z 1 der handelt, begeht eine Verwaltungsübertretung gemäß ElWOG bzw. GWG und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 150.000 Euro bestraft werden.

Personen im Sinne von Art. 3 Abs. 2 lit. a bis d der REMIT, dies sind Mitglieder der Verwaltungs-, Geschäftsführungs- und Aufsichtsorgane eines Unternehmens, Personen mit Beteiligung am Kapital eines Unternehmens, Personen, die im Rahmen der Ausübung ihrer Arbeit oder ihres Berufs oder der Erfüllung ihrer Aufgaben Zugang zu Informationen haben und Personen, die sich diese Informationen auf kriminelle Weise beschafft haben, die Insider-Informationen im Sinne des Art. 2 Z 1 der REMIT in Bezug auf Energiegroßhandelsprodukte im Sinnes von Art. 2 Z 4 der REMIT mit dem Vorsatz ausnutzen sich oder einem Dritten einen Vermögenvorteil zu verschaffen, indem sie

a.diese Informationen im Wege des Erwerbs oder der Veräußerung derartiger Energiegroßhandelsprodukte, auf die sich die Information bezieht, für eigene oder fremde Rechnung direkt oder indirekt nutzen,

b.diese Informationen an Dritte weitergeben, soweit dies nicht im normalen Rahmen der Ausübung ihrer Arbeit oder ihres Berufes oder der Erfüllung ihrer Aufgaben geschieht, oder

c.auf der Grundlage von Insider-Informationen anderen Personen empfehlen oder andere Personen dazu verleiten, derartige Energiegroßhandelsprodukte, auf die sich die Information bezieht, zu erwerben oder zu veräußern,

begehen eine gerichtlich strafbare Handlung und sind vom Gericht mit einer Freiheitsstrafe bis zu drei Jahren zu bestrafen.

Personen im Sinne von Art. 3 Abs. 2 lit. a bis d der REMIT, die eine Insider-Information im Sinne des Art. 2 Z 1 der REMIT in Bezug auf Energiegroßhandelsprodukte im Sinne des Art. 2 Z 4 der REMIT, jedoch ohne den Vorsatz, sich oder einen Dritten einen Vermögensvorteil zu verschaffen, verwenden, in dem sie

a.diese Informationen im Wege des Erwerbs oder der Veräußerung derartiger Energiegroßhandelsprodukte, auf die sich die Information bezieht, für eigene oder fremde Rechnung direkt oder indirekt nutzen,

b.diese Informationen an Dritte weitergeben, soweit dies nicht im normalen Rahmen der Ausübung ihrer Arbeit oder ihres Berufes oder der Erfüllung ihrer Aufgaben geschieht, oder

c.auf der Grundlage von Insider-Informationen anderen Personen empfehlen oder andere Personen dazu verleiten, derartige Energiegroßhandelsprodukte, auf die sich die Information bezieht, zu erwerben oder zu veräußern,

begehen eine gerichtlich strafbare Handlung und sind vom Gericht mit einer Freiheitsstrafe bis zu 6 Monaten oder mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 360 Tagessätzen zu bestrafen.

Veröffentlichung von Insider-Information

Veröffentlichung von Insider-Information

Art. 4 der REMIT sieht eine Verpflichtung zur Veröffentlichung von Insider-Information durch Marktteilnehmer iSd REMIT vor. Der Verstoß gegen diese Veröffentlichungspflicht stellt eine Verwaltungsübertretung gemäß ElWOG bzw. GWG dar und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 50.000 Euro bestraft werden. Ein Verstoß liegt vor, wenn:

  • Insider-Information entgegen Art. 4 Abs. 1 der REMIT nicht, nicht richtig, nicht vollständig, nicht effektiv oder nicht rechtzeitig bekanntgegeben wird;
  • Insider-Information entgegen Art. 4 Abs. 2 der REMIT nicht, nicht richtig, nicht vollständig oder nicht unverzüglich übermittelt wird;
  • entgegen Art. 4 Abs. 3 der REMIT die zeitgleiche, vollständige und tatsächliche Bekanntgabe einer Information nicht sicherstellt wird.

Gemäß §10a ElWOG und GWG hat jeder Marktteilnehmer, der im Sinne des Art. 4 der REMIT zur Veröffentlichung von Insider-Information verpflichtet ist, die zu veröffentlichenden Tatsachen zeitgleich mit der Veröffentlichung auch der E-Control mitzuteilen. Wer seinen Verpflichtungen zur Mitteilung von Insider-Informationen gemäß § 10a nicht nachkommt, begeht eine Verwaltungsübertretung und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 10.000 Euro bestraft werden.

Meldepflichten

Meldepflichten

Art. 8 der REMIT sieht eine umfassende Datenerhebung durch die ACER vor. Diese Daten betreffen Transaktionen am Energiegroßhandelsmarkt einschließlich der Handelsaufträge sowie Informationen über die Kapazität und Nutzung von Anlagen zur Erzeugung und Speicherung, zum Verbrauch oder zur Übertragung/Fernleitung von Strom oder Erdgas oder über die Kapazität und Nutzung von Flüssiggasanlagen, einschließlich der geplanten oder ungeplanten Nichtverfügbarkeit dieser Anlagen, zum Zweck der Überwachung der Energiegroßhandelsmärkte. Der Verstoß gegen diese Meldepflicht stellt eine Verwaltungsübertretung gemäß ElWOG bzw. GWG dar und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 50.000 Euro bestraft werden. Ein Verstoß liegt vor, wenn:

  • entgegen Art. 8 Abs. 1 der REMIT in Verbindung mit einem Durchführungsrechtsakt nach Art. 8 Abs. 2 der REMIT eine dort genannte Aufzeichnung nicht, nicht richtig, nicht rechtzeitig oder nicht vollständig übermittelt wird;
  • entgegen Art. 8 Abs. 5 der REMIT in Verbindung mit einem Durchführungsrechtsakt nach Art. 8 Abs. 6 der REMIT eine dort genannte Information nicht, nicht richtig, nicht rechtzeitig oder nicht vollständig übermittelt wird.

Art. 15 der REMIT verpflichtet Personen, die beruflich Transaktionen mit Energiegroßhandelsprodukten arrangieren, die nationale Regulierungsbehörde unverzüglich zu informieren, wenn sie den begründeten Verdacht haben, dass eine Transaktion gegen die Bestimmungen der Art. 3 oder 5 der REMIT verstoßen könnte. Wer entgegen Art. 15 der REMIT die Regulierungsbehörde nicht, nicht richtig, nicht vollständig oder nicht rechtzeitig informiert, begeht eine Verwaltungsübertretung und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 50.000 Euro bestraft werden.

Die E-Control erhebt und sammelt gem. § 25a Abs. 2 E-Control Gesetz die Daten und Informationen, die sie zur Erfüllung ihrer Aufgaben gemäß REMIT und für die Überwachung des Handels mit Energiegroßhandelsprodukten auf nationaler Ebene sowie die Überwachung der Einhaltung aller durch die REMIT auferlegten Pflichten und Verbote benötigt. Dafür hat die E-Control gem. § 25a Abs. 2 E-Control Gesetz die Meldepflichtigen, die Häufigkeit, den Umfang sowie das Format der Meldepflichten per Verordnung zu bestimmen. Diese Bestimmung wurde durch die Energiegroßhandelsdaten-Verordnung (EGHD-VO) rechtlich umgesetzt. Wer den auf Grund der Verordnung gem. § 25a Abs. 2 E-Control Gesetz angeordneten Datenübermittlungen nicht nachkommt, begeht eine Verwaltungsübertretung und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 10.000 Euro bestraft werden.

Gem. § 24 Abs. 2 E-Control Gesetz kann die Regulierungsbehörde in Erfüllung ihrer Überwachungsaufgaben gem. § 24 Abs. 1 E-Control Gesetz mit Bescheid die Herstellung des rechtmäßigen Zustandes innerhalb angemessener Frist auftragen. Wer den auf Grund § 24 Abs. 2 E-Control Gesetz für den Geltungsbereich dieses Bundesgesetzes erlassenen Bescheiden oder den darin enthaltenen Bedingungen, Befristungen und Auflagen nicht entspricht, begeht eine Verwaltungsübertretung und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 75.000 Euro bestraft werden.

Gem. § 25a Abs. 3 E-Control Gesetz haben Börseunternehmen sowie sonstige Personen, die beruflich Transaktionen für den österreichischen Markt arrangieren, der E-Control alle zur Wahrnehmung ihrer Aufgaben erforderlichen Informationen zu erteilen und die E-Control bei der Durchführung ihrer Untersuchungen zu unterstützen. Besteht der Verdacht, dass sowohl in den Aufgabenbereich des Börseunternehmens fallende Vorschriften, insbesondere die Handelsregeln, als auch in die Zuständigkeit der E-Control fallende Vorschriften verletzt wurden, so arbeiten beide Stellen zusammen und erteilen einander die erforderlichen Auskünfte. Die E-Control ist berechtigt, dem Börseunternehmen sowie sonstigen Personen, die beruflich Transaktionen für den österreichischen Markt arrangieren, die Unterlassung von Untersuchungen oder sonstigen Maßnahmen aufzutragen, wenn dadurch die Ermittlung eines Sachverhalts gemäß Art. 3 oder Art. 5 der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 1227/2011 erschwert oder vereitelt würde. Wer seinen Informations- und Kooperationsverpflichtungen gem. § 25a Abs. 3 E-Control Gesetz nicht nachkommt, begeht eine Verwaltungsübertretung und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 10.000 Euro bestraft werden.

Registrierung

Registrierung

Art. 9  Abs. 1 der REMIT legt fest, dass sich Marktteilnehmer, die Transaktionen abschließen, die gemäß Art. 8 Abs. 1 der ACER zu melden sind, bei der nationalen Regulierungsbehörde in dem Mitgliedsstaat, in dem sie ihren Sitz haben oder ansässig sind, oder, falls sie nicht in der Union ihren Sitz haben oder ansässig sind, in dem Mitgliedsstaat in dem sie tätig sind, registrieren lassen müssen. Wer sich entgegen Art. 9 Abs. 1 der REMIT in Verbindung mit Abs. 4 der REMIT nicht oder nicht rechtzeitig bei der Regulierungsbehörde registrieren lässt, begeht eine Verwaltungsübertretung und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 50.000 Euro bestraft werden..

Art. 9 Abs. 1 Unterabsatz 2 der REMIT legt fest, dass sich ein Marktteilnehmer nur bei einer nationalen Regulierungsbehörde registrieren lassen darf. Wer sich entgegen Art. 9 Abs. 1 Unterabsatz 2 der REMIT bei mehr als einer nationalen Regulierungsbehörde registrieren lässt, begeht eine Verwaltungsübertretung und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 50.000 Euro bestraft werden.

Art. 9 Abs. 5 der REMIT verpflichtet die in Art. 9 Abs. 1 der REMIT genannten Marktteilnehmer der nationalen Regulierungsbehörde jeder Änderung, die sich hinsichtlich der im Registrierungsformblatt angegebenen Informationen ergeben, unverzüglich mitzuteilen. Wer entgegen Art. 9 Abs. 5 der REMIT eine Änderung hinsichtlich der für die Registrierung erforderlichen Informationen nicht unverzüglich mitteilt, begeht eine Verwaltungsübertretung und kann mit einer Geldstrafe bis zu 50.000 Euro bestraft werden.