Security of supply

Secure, uninterrupted energy supply

Security and quality of supply have remained top priorities since electricity market liberalisation. International conferences on European energy market liberalisation regularly discuss liberalisation’s impact on supply security, and how to maintain secure supplies in the long term.

Definition

Apart from the safeguarding of supplies, the holdall term "security of supply" includes supply quality, which in turn comprises supply reliability, power quality, operational security of supply and commercial or service quality.
Components of security and quality of supply
Abb 1: Components of security and quality of supply

 

A serious discussion of security of supply calls for a generally accepted definition of the term. The European Commission, the International Energy Agency (IEA) and the European Parliament have differing definitions which reflect their priorities. E-Control employs the following definition:

"Security of supply means that electricity consumers are able to obtain electricity of defined quality when they need it, at cost-reflective and transparent prices."

This implies that supply security and quality have two components of equal importance: physical availability of electricity in sufficient quantities at all times, and prices that are affordable for consumers. Since energy prices are pivotal to economic growth and industrial competitiveness, they are closely linked to overall prosperity.

Risks

Supply security and quality can be exposed to technical, economic, political and environmental risks.
 
  • Technical risks: risks arising from inadequate investment in electrical plants and leading to their being in poor condition or unavailable.
  • Economic risks: risks arising from imbalances of supply and demand due to lack of investment or underdeveloped trading activity.
  • Political risks: risks arising from political tensions with primary energy producing countries and shortcomings of regulatory systems.
  • Environmental risks: potential damage from accidents or environmental pollution (tanker accidents, terrorist attacks, nuclear accidents, etc.)

Legal basis

The Elektrizitätswirtschafts- und -organisationgesetz (Electricity Act) contains provisions, under items 1 and 4 of section 4, calling for the provision of electricity of high quality at reasonable prices to the Austrian people and industry, and the maintenance of security of supply. There are similar provisions in the provincial implementing legislation.

Section 27(2) Energielenkungsgesetz (Energy Intervention Powers Act) 2012 as amended in 2013 charges E-Control with monitoring the security of electricity supply with a view to preparing intervention measures.

E-Control’s tasks in security of supply

E-Control carries out annual supply reliability surveys in cooperation with the electricity industry. The Energy Intervention Powers Act requires us to prepare annual ten-year supply forecasts. These are based on demand estimates and existing generating capacity.

E-Control’s contribution to security of supply

  • Long-term projections
  • Regular market monitoring pursuant to Article 4 Directive 2003/54/EC
  • Monitoring of unbundling with a view to ensuring that adequate levels of investment are maintained
  • Monitoring of supply reliability (outage and disturbance statistics)
  • Monitoring of power quality (feasibility study on a nationwide power quality (PQ) monitoring system in Austria, available from our German pages)
  • Expert cooperation on the formulation of joint action plans at national and international level
  • Active coordinating role in the development of emergency preparedness measures under the Energy Intervention Powers Act

Versorgungssicherheit

Versorgungssicherheit

Dem Thema Versorgungssicherheit und -qualität wird auch im liberalisierten Elektrizitätsmarkt allerhöchste Priorität beigemessen. Internationale Konferenzen über die Liberalisierung der europäischen Energiemärkte beschäftigen sich regelmäßig mit den Auswirkungen der Liberalisierung auf die Versorgungssicherheit und wie diese langfristig gewährleistet werden kann.

Definition

Der Überbegriff Versorgungssicherheit inkludiert neben der Versorgungssicherung auch die Versorgungsqualität, welche sich allgemein in Versorgungszuverlässigkeit, Spannungsqualität, operative Versorgungssicherheit und kommerzielle Qualität (Dienstleistungen) untergliedert.
Übersicht des Begriffes Versorgungssicherheit und Versorgungsqualität – "Säulenmodell"
Abb 1: Übersicht des Begriffes Versorgungssicherheit und Versorgungsqualität

 

Eine tiefgehende Diskussion über das Thema Versorgungssicherheit erfordert ein allgemein gültiges Verständnis über die Definition des Begriffes. Je nach Schwerpunktsetzung gibt es unterschiedliche Definitionen der EU-Kommission, der Internationalen Energieagentur (IEA) sowie des Europäischen Parlaments. Die E-Control geht von folgender Definition aus:

"Versorgungssicherheit bedeutet, dass Elektrizitätsverbraucher elektrische Energie mit definierter Qualität beziehen können, zu dem Zeitpunkt, wenn sie diese benötigen, und zu kostenorientierten und transparenten Preisen."

Das heißt, Versorgungssicherheit und -qualität beinhaltet zwei Komponenten von gleichrangiger Bedeutung: erstens die physikalische Verfügbarkeit von elektrischer Energie in ausreichender Menge und zu jedem beliebigem Zeitpunkt und zweitens einen für die Energiekonsumenten leistbaren Preis. Angesichts der Tatsache, dass Energiepreise das Wirtschaftswachstum und die Konkurrenzfähigkeit der Industrie entscheidend beeinflussen, sind Energiepreise und Wohlstand der Bevölkerung in einem nicht unerheblichen Ausmaß miteinander verknüpft.

Risiken

Risiken für die Versorgungssicherheit und -qualität können technischer, wirtschaftlicher, politischer und umwelttechnischer Natur sein:
 
  • Technische Risiken: Risiken aufgrund von fehlenden oder zu geringen Investitionen in die elektrischen Anlagen und des daraus resultierenden schlechten Zustands oder der fehlenden Verfügbarkeit der Anlagen
  • Wirtschaftliche Risiken: Risiken aufgrund des Ungleichgewichtes von Erzeugung und Verbrauch aufgrund von mangelnden Investitionen oder unzureichenden Handelsaktivitäten
  • Politische Risiken: Risiken aufgrund politischer Schwierigkeiten mit den Primärenergielieferstaaten, Risiken aufgrund von Fehlern im Regulierungssystem
  • Umweltrisiken: Potenzielle Schäden aufgrund von Unfällen oder Umweltverschmutzung (Tankerunfälle, Terroranschläge, Nuklearunfälle etc.)

Gesetzliche Grundlage

Im ElWOG finden sich unter dem Titel „Ziele“ im § 4 Ziff.1 und 4 Bestimmungen, wonach der österreichischen Bevölkerung und Wirtschaft kostengünstige Elektrizität in hoher Qualität zur Verfügung zu stellen und die Versorgungssicherheit zu gewährleisten ist. Ähnliche Bestimmungen finden sich in den jeweiligen Landesausführungsgesetzen.

Gemäß § 27 Abs.2 Energielenkungsgesetz 2012 in der Fassung BGBl. I Nr. 41/2013 hat die E-Control zur Vorbereitung der Lenkungsmaßnahmen ein Monitoring der Versorgungssicherheit im Elektrizitätsbereich durchzuführen.

Aufgaben der E-Control

In Zusammenarbeit mit Branchenvertretern führt die E-Control jährlich Erhebungen zur Versorgungszuverlässigkeit durch. Im Rahmen des Energielenkungsgesetzes erstellt die E-Control jährlich eine Versorgungsprognose über zehn Jahre. Diese soll das Verbrauchsverhalten und die vorhandenen Kraftwerkskapazitäten abschätzen.

Aktivitäten der E-Control im Rahmen der Versorgungssicherheit

  • Langfristige Prognosen
  • Regelmäßige Marktbeobachtung und Monitoring gem. Art. 4 der Richtlinie 2003/54/EG
  • Sicherstellung ausreichender Investitionen durch Überwachung des Unbundling
  • Kontrolle der Versorgungszuverlässigkeit (Ausfalls- und Störungsstatistik)
  • Spannungsqualität ( Machbarkeitsstudie für ein flächendeckendes PQ-Monitoring in Österreich)
  • Zusammenarbeit mit Experten auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene zur Ausarbeitung von akkordierten Maßnahmen
  • Aktive und koordinierende Rolle bei der Ausarbeitung der Krisenvorsorgemaßnahmen im Rahmen des Energielenkungsgesetzes