The energy infrastructure package

The EU energy infrastructure package

Article Navigation Portlet

  • The EU's energy infrastructure package - overview
  • Revision of the Regulation
  • Projects of common interest (PCIs)
  • Cost benefit analysis (CBA)
  • Cross Border Cost Allocation (CBCA)
  • Risk-related incentives
  • Financing through the Connecting Europe Facility
  • Accelerated permit granting procedure
  • Transparency and public participation

The EU's energy infrastructure package - overview

Overview

The so-called “EU energy infrastructure package” has been in force since 2013. It is the Regulation (EU) No 347/2013 on guidelines for trans-European energy infrastructure, which aims to support  countries in their implementation of energy infrastructure projects. These projects are crucial for Europe to reach its energy and climate goals, to complete the Internal Energy Market and enhance the security of energy supply in the EU. 

Revision of the Regulation

Revision of the Regulation

In light of the climate change crisis and the European “Green Deal”, the European Commission is  preparing a revision of the Infrastructure Regulation. In July 2020, E-Control produced an extensive position paper in connection to this, which presents possible improvement measures concerning the following topics:

•    Anchoring the Green Deal in the Regulation
•    Coherence of the Regulation
•    Governance of the Regulation
•    PCI selection process
•    Revised energy infrastructure categories and groups
•    Timely implementation and permit granting processes
•    Criteria for project financing

Projects of common interest (PCIs)

Projects of common interest (PCIs)

The Infrastructure Regulation contains a process for identifying projects of common interest (PCIs) that are a central piece for the realisation of the trans-European energy infrastructure priority corridors and areas. Under this framework, energy infrastructure includes in particular:
•    High-voltage overhead lines, underground and submarine transmission cables, and electricity storage facilities;
•    Electricity smart grids
•    Gas transmission pipelines, along with reception, storage and regasification or decompression facilities for liquefied natural gas (LNG) and compressed natural gas (CNG); and
•    Infrastructure such as pipelines used to transport crude oil and carbon dioxide transport projects.

Projects that are granted PCI status potentially qualify for a variety of preferential treatment measures under the Infrastructure Regulation. These are briefly explained below.

Potential benefits resulting from PCI status

Potential benefits resulting from PCI status click to enlarge

Only projects that fulfil the following criteria can be included in the PCI list:
•    A PCI must be necessary to implement one of the energy infrastructure corridors or areas set out in Annex I to the Regulation;
•    A PCI must concern at least two Member States (or one Member State and one EEA country); and
•    A PCI’s potential overall benefits must outweigh its costs.
•    Electricity and gas projects must, in addition, considerably contribute to market integration, competition (for gas projects only), sustainability or security of supply.

The proposed electricity and gas projects must be included in the last national ten-year network development plan (TYNDP) prepared by ENTSO-E or ENTSOG. 

The PCI list is updated every other year. 

The Infrastructure Regulation provides that in a first step towards the Union list, national regulators, member states, system operators, the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (ACER) and the European Commission come together in regional groups to discuss PCI candidates on the basis of the ten-year network development plans. Following a public consultation and an ACER opinion, European Commission and member states together decide which projects make it onto the final list. Then, the European Commission adopts the Union list as a delegated act. 

For further information about PCIs, please consult the European Commission’s website: http://ec.europa.eu/energy/infrastructure/pci/pci_en.htm

The Commission’s website also contains an interactive map with an overview of PCIs and links for details on the individual projects: http://ec.europa.eu/energy/infrastructure/transparency_platform/map-viewer/ 

EC map of PCIs; source: European Commission

EC map of PCIs; source: European Commission vergrößern

Cost benefit analysis (CBA)

Cost-benefit analysis

Article 11 of the Infrastructure Regulation obliges ENTSO-E and ENTSOG (European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity and Gas respectively) to publish harmonised methodologies for energy-system-wide cost-benefit analyses. These provide the basis for PCI selection, cross-border cost allocation and the selection of projects eligible for EU funding. The methodologies shall be approved once ACER, the European Commission, and possibly also Member States have provided opinions on them. 

The CBA methodology for electricity projects can be found on the ENTSO-E website: https://tyndp.entsoe.eu/cba/

The CBA methodology for gas projects can be found on the ENTSOG website: https://www.entsog.eu/methodologies-and-modelling

Cross Border Cost Allocation (CBCA)

Cross-border cost allocation

According to the Infrastructure Regulation, the costs for the development, construction, operation and maintenance of projects of common interest should in general be fully borne by the member states that benefit from the infrastructure. If a PCI’s investment costs exceed its benefits in the investment country, the project might be eligible for cross-border cost allocation (CBCA). To this end, the project promoters must jointly file a request for cross-border cost allocation with the national regulatory authorities concerned, the project must be sufficiently mature and the transmission system operators of the member states that benefit from the project must have been consulted (cf. Article 12 of the Infrastructure Regulation).

Within six months, the regulatory authorities must decide on the cost allocation for the project and any impact the costs have on the system charges.

Risk-related incentives

Risk-related incentives

Where project promoters incur higher risks for the development, construction, operation or maintenance of a PCI, compared to the risks normally incurred by a comparable infrastructure project, Article 13(1) of the Infrastructure Regulation stipulates that the member states and national regulatory authorities shall ensure that appropriate incentives are granted to the project.

According to Article 13(6) of the Infrastructure Regulation, each national regulatory authority must publish its methodology and the criteria used to evaluate investments in electricity and gas infrastructure projects and the higher risks incurred by them. 
 

Financing through the Connecting Europe Facility

Financing through the Connecting Europe Facility

Certain cross-border projects might have access to CBCA (as explained above) and, in addition, to partial EU financing. Articles 14 and 15 of the Infrastructure Regulation specify which projects are eligible for Union financial assistance, and contain guidance for the award criteria for such assistance. The criteria themselves are laid down in Regulation (EU) No 1316/2013 establishing the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF Regulation)

In essence, the Infrastructure Regulation specifies the following conditions for projects to be eligible for Union financial assistance:

•    the project-specific cost-benefit analysis provides evidence concerning the existence of significant positive externalities, such as security of supply, solidarity or innovation;
•    the project has received a cross-border cost allocation decision pursuant to the Regulation; and
•    the project is commercially not viable according to the business plan and other assessments carried out, notably by possible investors or creditors or the national regulatory authority.

The body entrusted with administering the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF) is the INEA (Innovation and Networks Executive Agency). The

INEA regularly publishes calls for proposals on their website.

Accelerated permit granting procedure

Accelerated permit granting procedure

The Infrastructure Regulation stipulates that the permit granting processes for infrastructure facilities should neither lead to disproportionate administrative burdens nor create barriers to the development of trans-European networks and market access. Barriers to investment are to be identified and removed, including by means of streamlining planning and consultation procedures. PCI permit procedures are to be granted preferential status also at national level, including when it comes to environmental impact analyses, as far as there are corresponding provisions in national law. This priority status is meant to simplify procedures and shorten the duration of proceedings.
In accordance with the Infrastructure Regulation, each member state must designate one national competent authority which is responsible for facilitating and coordinating the permit granting process for PCIs. 

As specified in Article 10 of the Infrastructure Regulation, permit granting is a two-stage process:

(a) The pre-application procedure, covering the period between the start of the permit granting process and the acceptance of the submitted application file by the competent authority. It takes place within an indicative period of two years.

(b) The statutory permit granting procedure, covering the period from the date of acceptance of the submitted application file until the comprehensive decision is taken. This stage must not exceed one and a half years.

Overall, the process should not take more than three and a half years.

Even during the pre-application procedure, the public must be heard, and there are additional obligations on transparency and public participation (Article 9 of the Infrastructure Regulation).

The implementation of these regulations into national law took place by issuing the Energie-Infrastruktur-Gesetz (Energy Infrastructure Act).
 

Transparency and public participation

Transparency and public participation

Once a project is put on the Union list, it is dubbed crucial for the EU's energy policy. Giving projects such priority status is hoped to stop any discussions about their necessity during the permit granting process before they even start. As part of the efforts to speed up permitting procedures, the Infrastructure Regulation also provides particular rules for public participation.

First, the member states (or rather, their competent authorities) drew up a manual of procedures. This must contain information about the applicable law, the necessary decisions and opinions, the contact details of the competent authorities, etc. In the interest of increased transparency, project promoters must hand in a concept for public participation at the beginning of the permit granting process. Before the final and complete application file is handed in, a public consultation must take place. This aims e.g. to identify the most suitable location or trajectory for the infrastructure to be built. As part of this public consultation, an information leaflet is published. Also, project promoters or competent authorities must provide a website that carries relevant information about the project of common interest.

EU Energie Infrastruktur Paket

EU Energie Infrastruktur Paket

Article Navigation Portlet

  • EU Energie Infrastruktur Paket - Überblick
  • Überarbeitung der Verordnung
  • Vorhaben von gemeinsamen Interesse (Projects of Common Interest - PCI)
  • Kosten-Nutzen Analyse (Cost-Benefit Analysis – CBA)
  • Grenzüberschreitende Kostenaufteilung (Cross Border Cost Allocation - CBCA
  • Risikobezogene Anreize
  • Finanzielle Unterstützung der EU (CEF-Förderung)
  • Beschleunigtes Genehmigungsverfahren
  • Transparenz und Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit

EU Energie Infrastruktur Paket - Überblick

Überblick

Seit 2013 ist das so genannte „EU Energie Infrastruktur Paket“ in Kraft. Es handelt sich um die Verordnung (EU) Nr. 347/2013 zu Leitlinien für die transeuropäische Energieinfrastruktur. Ziel der Verordnung ist es, die Umsetzung von Energieinfrastrukturprojekten zu unterstützen, die von übergeordneter strategischer Bedeutung sind. Diese Projekte sollen zur Erreichung der europäischen Energie- und Klima-Ziele, der Vollendung des Europäischen Energiebinnenmarktes und der Energieversorgungssicherheit der Europäischen Union beitragen. 

Überarbeitung der Verordnung

Überarbeitung der Verordnung

Im Lichte der Klimakrise und des Europäischen „Green Deal“ bereitet die EU-Kommission derzeit eine Überarbeitung der EU Infrastrukturverordnung vor. In diesem Zusammenhang erstellte die E-Control im Juli 2020 ein umfassendes Positionspapier,  in dem mögliche Verbesserungsmaßnahmen zu folgenden Themen diskutiert werden:

•    Verankerung des Green Deal in der Verordnung
•    Kohärenz der Verordnung mit anderen Planungsinstrumenten, Gesetzen und Strategien
•    Governance der Verordnung
•    PCI-Auswahlverfahren
•    Überarbeitete Energieinfrastrukturkategorien und -Gruppen
•    Rechtzeitige Projektumsetzung und beschleunigte Genehmigungsverfahren
•    Kriterien für die Projektfinanzierung

 

Vorhaben von gemeinsamen Interesse (Projects of Common Interest - PCI)

Vorhaben von gemeinsamem Interesse (Projects of Common Interest - PCI)

Die Infrastruktur-Verordnung behandelt unter anderem die Identifizierung von Vorhaben von gemeinsamem Interesse (Projects of Common Interest, PCI), die für die Realisierung der vorrangigen transeuropäischen Energieinfrastrukturkorridore und -gebiete erforderlich sind. Unter die relevanten Energieinfrastrukturkategorien fallen insbesondere
•    Hochspannungsfreileitungen sowie Erd- und Seekabel und Stromspeicheranlagen
•    Intelligente Stromnetze
•    Gas-Fernleitungen sowie Anlagen für die Übernahme, Speicherung und Rückvergasung oder Dekomprimierung von LNG (Liquid Natural Gas - Flüssigerdgas) und CNG (Compressed Natural Gas – komprimiertes Erdgas)
•    sowie beispielsweise Erdöl-Rohrleitungen für den Transport von Rohöl und Kohlendioxidtransportvorhaben

Aus dem PCI-Status eines Projektes ergeben sich aus der Infrastruktur-Verordnung in weiterer Folge verschiedene mögliche Vorteile für das entsprechende Projekt, die nachfolgend überblicksartig dargestellt sind.

Vorteile aus PCI Status

Vorteile aus PCI Status vergrößern

 

Um in die Liste der Vorhaben von gemeinsamem Interesse aufgenommen zu werden, muss ein Projekt mehrere Kriterien erfüllen:
•    Insbesondere muss es für einen der in Anhang I zur Verordnung genannten Infrastrukturkorridore und -gebiete erforderlich sein,
•    zumindest zwei Mitgliedstaaten (oder einen Mitgliedstaat und einen EWR-Staat) betreffen und
•    einen höheren potenziellen Gesamtnutzen als Kosten aufweisen.
•    Strom- und Gasvorhaben müssen überdies erheblich zur Marktintegration, zu Wettbewerb (nur Gas), Nachhaltigkeit oder Versorgungssicherheit beitragen.

Die vorgeschlagenen Strom- bzw. Gas-Vorhaben müssen Teil des letzten verfügbaren, durch ENTSO-E bzw. ENTSOG ausgearbeiteten, Zehnjahresnetzentwicklungsplans (TYNDP) sein. 
Die PCI-Liste wird alle zwei Jahre aktualisiert. Wie in der Infrastruktur-Verordnung vorgesehen, beraten zunächst die nationalen Regulierungsbehörden, Mitgliedstaaten, Netzbetreiber, die Agentur für die Zusammenarbeit der Energieregulierungsbehörden (ACER) und die Europäische Kommission in regionalen Gruppen auf Basis der TYNDPs über PCI-Kandidaten. Nach öffentlicher Konsultation und Stellungnahme durch ACER wählt das, aus Europäischer Kommission und Mitgliedstaaten bestehende Entscheidungsgremium, Vorhaben aus. Die Unionsliste wird anschließend wiederum von der Europäischen Kommission als delegierter Rechtsakt verabschiedet. 
Weiterführende Informationen zu PCIs sind auf der Homepage der Europäischen Kommission zu finden: http://ec.europa.eu/energy/infrastructure/pci/pci_en.htm
Über die Homepage der Europäischen Kommission kann auch auf eine interaktive Karte zugegriffen werden, die einen Überblick über die PCIs gibt und Links zu Details zu den einzelnen Projekten enthält: http://ec.europa.eu/energy/infrastructure/transparency_platform/map-viewer/ 

PCI-Karte der Europäischen Kommission; Quelle Europäische Kommission

PCI-Karte der Europäischen Kommission; Quelle Europäische Kommission vergrößern

 

Kosten-Nutzen Analyse (Cost-Benefit Analysis – CBA)

Kosten-Nutzen Analyse (Cost-Benefit Analysis – CBA)

Artikel 11 Infrastruktur-Verordnung verpflichtet ENTSO-E und ENTSOG (die Vereinigung der Europäischen Übertragungs- bzw. Fernleitungsnetzbetreiber für Strom bzw. Gas) zur Veröffentlichung einer Methode für eine harmonisierte energiesystemweite Kosten-Nutzen-Analyse. Diese bildet die Grundlage für die Auswahl von PCIs, etwaige Kostenaufteilungsverfahren sowie die Auswahl förderwürdiger Vorhaben durch die EU. Die Methoden sind nach Stellungnahmen von ACER, der Europäischen Kommission und gegebenenfalls der Mitgliedstaaten von der Europäischen Kommission zu genehmigen. 

Die CBA Methode für Stromprojekte ist auf der Website von ENTSO-E zu finden: https://tyndp.entsoe.eu/cba/

Die CBA Methode für Gasprojekte ist auf der Website von ENTSO-G zu finden: https://www.entsog.eu/methodologies-and-modelling

Grenzüberschreitende Kostenaufteilung (Cross Border Cost Allocation - CBCA

Grenzüberschreitende Kostenaufteilung (Cross Border Cost Allocation - CBCA)

Laut Infrastruktur-Verordnung sollen die Kosten für die Entwicklung, den Bau, den Betrieb oder die Instandhaltung eines PCI prinzipiell von den Netzbenutzern in jenen Mitgliedstaaten, die von dem Projekt profitieren, getragen werden. Wenn die Investitionskosten eines PCI den Nutzen im Land der Investition übersteigen, so kommt dieses Projekt für eine grenzüberschreitende Kostenaufteilung in Betracht. Voraussetzung hierfür ist, dass die Vorhabenträger bei den betroffenen nationalen Regulierungsbehörden gemeinsam einen Antrag auf Kostenaufteilung stellen, das Vorhaben ausreichend ausgereift ist und die Übertragungs- oder Fernleitungsnetzbetreiber der Mitgliedstaaten mit positiver Nettoauswirkung konsultiert wurden (siehe Artikel 12 Infrastruktur-Verordnung).

Über die Investitionsanträge haben die nationalen Regulierungsbehörden innerhalb von sechs Monaten koordinierte Entscheidungen hinsichtlich der Aufteilung der Investitionskosten sowie über ihre Einbeziehung in die Netznutzungsentgelte zu erlassen.

Risikobezogene Anreize

Risikobezogene Anreize

Sollten Vorhabenträger mit der Entwicklung, dem Bau oder dem Betrieb eines PCIs höhere Risiken eingehen, als dies bei vergleichbaren Infrastrukturprojekten der Fall wäre, haben die Mitgliedstaaten bzw. nationalen Regulierungsbehörden gemäß Artikel 13 Infrastruktur-Verordnung dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass für das Vorhaben angemessene Anreize gewährt werden.
Gemäß Artikel 13 Absatz 6 Infrastruktur-Verordnung sind die nationalen Regulierungsbehörden verpflichtet, die Methode und Kriterien, die für die Bewertung von Investitionen in Strom- und Gasinfrastrukturvorhaben und der bei ihnen eingegangenen Risiken verwendet werden, zu veröffentlichen. 

Finanzielle Unterstützung der EU (CEF-Förderung)

Finanzielle Unterstützung der EU (CEF-Förderung)

Ergänzend zur Finanzierung von grenzüberschreitenden Investitionen durch eine Kostenaufteilungsentscheidung sieht die EU in bestimmten Fällen die Möglichkeit einer finanziellen Unterstützung vor. In den Artikeln 14 und 15 Infrastruktur-Verordnung werden förderfähige Vorhaben bzw. die Anleitung für die Festlegung von Kriterien für die Gewährung von Finanzhilfen bestimmt. Die Kriterien für die Vergabe dieser Finanzhilfen selbst regelt die Verordnung (EU) Nr. 1316/2013 zur Schaffung der Fazilität „Connecting Europe“ (nachfolgend „CEF-Verordnung“). 

Für die Gewährung einer finanziellen Unterstützung kommen gemäß Infrastruktur-Verordnung Vorhaben in Betracht, die im Wesentlichen die folgenden Kriterien erfüllen:
•    die vorhabenspezifische Kosten-Nutzen-Analyse liefert Erkenntnisse dafür, dass erhebliche positive externe Effekte wie Versorgungssicherheit, Solidarität oder Innovation gegeben sind;
•    für das Vorhaben gibt es eine Entscheidung über die grenzüberschreitende Kostenaufteilung gemäß Infrastruktur-Verordnung; und
•    das Vorhaben ist nach dem Geschäftsplan und anderen, insbesondere von potenziellen Investoren oder Gläubigern oder von der nationalen Regulierungsbehörde durchgeführten Bewertungen kommerziell nicht tragfähig.

Mit der Abwicklung der Connecting Europe Fazilität (CEF) wurde die INEA (Innovation and Networks Executive Agency) beauftragt. Auf der Website der INEA werden regelmäßig Ausschreibungen für die Vergabe von Fördermitteln veröffentlicht.

Beschleunigtes Genehmigungsverfahren

Beschleunigtes Genehmigungsverfahren

Nach den Zielsetzungen der Infrastruktur-Verordnung sollen die Verfahren zur Genehmigung von Projekten im anlagenrechtlichen Sinne weder zu unverhältnismäßigem Verwaltungsaufwand führen noch Hindernisse für die Entwicklung transeuropäischer Netze und des Marktzugangs schaffen. Daher sollen Investitionshindernisse ermittelt und beseitigt werden, unter anderem durch Straffung der Planungs- und Anhörungsverfahren. Dabei sollen PCIs auch auf nationaler Ebene „Vorrangstatus“ im Hinblick auf Genehmigungsverfahren einschließlich Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfungsverfahren erhalten, soweit dies im nationalen Recht vorgesehen ist. Dieser Vorrangstatus soll verfahrensrechtlich vor allem eine Vereinfachung des Verfahrensablaufs bzw. eine Verkürzung der Verfahrensdauer bewirken.

Gemäß Infrastruktur-Verordnung hatte jeder Mitgliedstaat eine zuständige nationale Behörde, die für die Erleichterung und Koordinierung des Genehmigungsverfahrens für PCIs verantwortlich ist, zu benennen. 

Das Genehmigungsverfahren umfasst gemäß Artikel 10 Infrastruktur-Verordnung zwei Abschnitte:

a) Der Vorantragsabschnitt, der sich auf den Zeitraum zwischen dem Beginn des Genehmigungsverfahrens und der Annahme der eingereichten Antragsunterlagen durch die zuständige Behörde erstreckt, findet binnen einer indikativen Frist von zwei Jahren statt.

b) Der formale Genehmigungsabschnitt, der sich auf den Zeitraum ab dem Datum der Annahme der eingereichten Antragsunterlagen bis zum Erlass einer umfassenden Entscheidung erstreckt, dauert maximal ein Jahr und sechs Monate.

Die Gesamtdauer des Genehmigungsverfahrens soll dann maximal drei Jahre und sechs Monate betragen.

Bereits im Vorantragsabschnitt hat eine Anhörung der Öffentlichkeit stattzufinden; hinzu kommen weitere Verpflichtungen zur Transparenz und Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit (Artikel 9 Infrastruktur-Verordnung).

Die Implementierung dieser Vorschriften in nationales Recht erfolgte durch den Erlass des Energie-Infrastrukturgesetzes.

Transparenz und Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit

Transparenz und Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit

Mit der Aufnahme in die Unionsliste gilt ein Vorhaben in energiepolitischer Hinsicht als erforderlich. Diese Regelung zielt darauf ab, energiepolitische Grundsatzdiskussionen im Genehmigungsverfahren zu vermeiden. In Hinblick auf die Verfahrensbeschleunigung normiert die Infrastrukturverordnung auch spezielle Vorgaben zur Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit.

Zunächst erstellten die Mitgliedstaaten bzw. deren zuständige Behörden ein Verfahrenshandbuch. Dieses enthält Informationen zu den anzuwendenden Rechtsvorschriften, zu den einzuholenden Entscheidungen und Stellungnahmen, Kontaktdaten der zuständigen Behörden etc. Im Sinne einer erhöhten Transparenz ist schließlich ein Vorhabenträger verpflichtet, zu Beginn des Genehmigungsverfahrens ein Konzept zur Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung zur Genehmigung einzureichen. Vor Einreichung der endgültigen Antragsunterlagen findet eine Anhörung der Öffentlichkeit statt. Ziel dieser Anhörung ist es u.a., den am besten geeigneten Standort oder die am besten geeignete Trasse festzustellen. Im Rahmen dieser Anhörung ist eine Informationsbroschüre zu veröffentlichen. Weiters muss ein Vorhabenträger bzw. allenfalls die nationale Behörde eine Website mit relevanten Informationen über das Vorhaben von gemeinsamem Interesse erstellen.