Further investigative steps

Based on the initial results of the Authority, the following investigative steps may be initiated:

Contacting market participants

There are various ways persons can submit information regarding potential breaches of the stipulations of Articles 3 and 5 REMIT to E-Control and the regulatory authority can learn of such breaches in various ways. In all probability, not every suspicion will substantiate and trigger the initiation of an investigation procedure according to section 25a E-Control-Gesetz (E-Control Act). To establish whether further investigations in the course of an investigation procedure are necessary, E-Control might have to informally, to ensure proportionality in administrative efforts, get in touch with market participants. The objective of contacting market participants in this way is to clarify incidents observed in order to exclude incidents that constitute accepted practices from further prosecution.

Initiating an investigation procedure pursuant to section 25a(1) Energie-Control-Gesetz (E-Control Act)

If a suspicion is confirmed, E-Control will initiate an investigation procedure pursuant to section 25a(1) E-Control Act, in the course of which it is, while maintaining the principle of proportionality, authorised to

  • have access to any relevant document in any form, and to receive a copy of it;
  • demand information from any relevant person or principals;
  • summon and hear any such person or principal;
  • carry out investigations on site and demand access to information, explanations or documents which are related to the subject and purpose of the investigations;
  • have access to and receive a copy of already filed results of a provision of message transfer and message monitoring data;
  • suggest a seizure of property pursuant to section 110 Strafprozessordnung (Criminal Procedure Code) at the competent public prosecution authority;
  • if there is suspicion of market manipulation, to request the responsible authority, which can be asked to cooperate in ensuring that stipulations and prohibitions of REMIT are heeded by imposing a temporary prohibition of professional activity on the accused party for the duration of the procedure.

It is in the framework of these powers that E-Control might contact market participants concerned. However, actual investigation and punishing powers according to penal law remain with the judicial law enforcement authorities or district administration authorities, which serve as administrative penal authorities.

Coordination with ACER

Article 16(2) REMIT requires E-Control to without delay inform ACER in as specific a manner as possible where it has reasonable grounds to suspect that acts in breach of REMIT are being, or have been, carried out either in Austria or in another member state. This obligation must thus be complied with as soon as a procedure is initiated by E-Control. The exchange of information with other relevant authorities is governed by Article 16(3) REMIT.

Referral to the law enforcement authorities

Within the scope of application of REMIT and/or section 25a Energie-Control-Gesetz (E-Control Act), E-Control must ascertain in the course of the investigation procedure whether the reasonable suspicions of a breach of REMIT upon which the procedure was initiated are confirmed and must be referred to the relevant law enforcement authorities, i.e. the public prosecution authority or district administration authority, for further investigation, or whether the investigation procedure must be discontinued because the suspicions were unfounded. Breaches of REMIT under administrative penal law are referred to the competent district administration authorities while breaches under judicial penal law are referred to the public prosecution authority.

The subsequent course of the procedure depends on the investigative steps undertaken by the competent authority; in that respect, E-Control is required to cooperate with the judicial law enforcement authority as provided for in section 25b E-Control Act.

Breadcrumbnavigation

Navigation umschalten

Weiterführende Untersuchungsschritte

Weiterführende Untersuchungsschritte

Basierend auf den ersten Untersuchungsergebnissen der Behörde können die folgenden Untersuchungsschritte eingeleitet werden:

Article Navigation Portlet

  • Kontaktaufnahme mit Marktteilnehmern
  • Einleitung eines Ermittlungsverfahren gemäß § 25a Absatz 1 E-ControlG
  • Koordination mit ACER
  • Weiterleitung an die Strafbehörden

Kontaktaufnahme mit Marktteilnehmern

Kontaktaufnahme mit Marktteilnehmern

Informationen über mögliche Verstöße gegen die Bestimmungen der Artikel 3 und 5 der REMIT können auf verschiedenen Wegen an die E-Control herangetragen werden bzw. von ihr wahrgenommen werden. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass sich nicht jeder Verdachtsfall erhärtet und in der Einleitung eines Ermittlungsverfahrens gemäß § 25a E-ControlG mündet. Zur Klärung, ob eine weitere Untersuchung im Zuge eines Ermittlungsverfahrens notwendig ist, kann es erforderlich sein, dass die E-Control, im Sinne einer verhältnismäßigen Verwaltungstätigkeit, den formlosen Kontakt zu Marktteilnehmern sucht. Ziel dieser Kontaktaufnahme ist es, im Wege einer Aufklärung über wahrgenommene Vorgänge, zulässige Tätigkeiten von der weiteren Verfolgung auszuschließen.

Einleitung eines Ermittlungsverfahren gemäß § 25a Absatz 1 E-ControlG

Einleitung eines Ermittlungsverfahren gemäß § 25a Absatz 1 E-ControlG

Sollte sich ein Verdacht erhärten, wird von der E-Control ein Verfahren gemäß § 25a Absatz 1 E-ControlG eingeleitet. Im Zuge dessen ist die E-Control, unter Wahrung des Maßstabs der Verhältnismäßigkeit, berechtigt:

  • relevante Unterlagen aller Art einzusehen und Kopien zu erhalten;
  • von jeder relevanten Person oder Auftraggebern Auskünfte anzufordern;
  • solche Personen oder Auftraggebern vorzuladen und zu vernehmen;
  • Ermittlungen vor Ort durchzuführen sowie Auskünfte, Erläuterungen oder Unterlagen zu verlangen, die mit Gegenstand und Zweck der Ermittlungen in Zusammenhang stehen;
  • bereits zum Akt genommene Ergebnisse der Auskunft über Daten einer Nachrichtenübermittlung und der Überwachung von Nachrichten einzusehen und Kopien von ihnen zu erhalten;
  • bei der zuständigen Staatsanwaltschaft eine Sicherstellung gemäß § 110 StPO anzuregen;
  • bei Verdacht der Marktmanipulation für die Dauer des Verfahrens ein vorübergehendes Verbot der Ausübung der Berufstätigkeit des Beschuldigten bei der zuständigen Behörde zu beantragen, die zur Sicherstellung der in der REMIT auferlegten Gebote und Verbote herangezogen werden können.

Speziell im Rahmen dieser Befugnisse kann es daher zu einer Kontaktaufnahme mit betroffenen Marktteilnehmern kommen. Es ist jedoch klarzustellen, dass die konkreten strafrechtlichen Untersuchungs- und Sanktionierungsbefugnisse den gerichtlichen Strafverfolgungsbehörden bzw. den Bezirksverwaltungsbehörden als Verwaltungsstrafbehörden vorbehalten sind.

Koordination mit ACER

Koordination mit ACER

Artikel 16 Absatz 2 der REMIT verpflichtet die E-Control dazu ACER unverzüglich und so genau wie möglich davon zu unterrichten, wenn sie einen begründeten Anlass zu der Vermutung hat, dass in Österreich oder in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat gegen REMIT verstoßen wird oder wurde. Diese Verpflichtung ist somit gleichzeitig mit der Eröffnung des Verfahrens durch die E-Control zu erfüllen. Der Informationsaustausch mit anderen relevanten Behörden richtet sich nach Artikel 16 Absatz 3 REMIT.

Weiterleitung an die Strafbehörden

Weiterleitung an die Strafbehörden

Die Aufgabe der E-Control im Anwendungsbereich der REMIT bzw. des § 25a E-ControlG ist es, im Rahmen des Ermittlungsverfahrens festzustellen, ob sich der im Zuge der Verfahrenseinleitung erweckte begründete Verdacht eines Verstoßes gegen die REMIT erhärtet und zur weiteren Untersuchung an die Staatsanwaltschaft oder Bezirksverwaltungsbehörde als Strafverfolgungsbehörden weitergeleitet werden muss, oder ob das Ermittlungsverfahren mangels feststellbarem Verstoßes einzustellen ist. Verwaltungsstrafrechtliche Verstöße gegen die REMIT werden an die zuständigen Bezirksverwaltungsbehörden weitergeleitet bzw. kriminalstrafrechtliche Verstöße an die Staatsanwaltschaft.

In weiterer Folge ist der Verfahrensgang von den Ermittlungsschritten der zuständigen Behörde abhängig, wobei die E-Control verpflichtet ist, mit der gerichtlichen Strafverfolgungsbehörde im Sinne des § 25b E-ControlG zusammenzuarbeiten.