Disclosure of inside information in a timely manner

Disclosure of inside information in a timely manner

Inside information must be disclosed in an effective and timely manner. ACER considers that:

  • the publication of inside information which was published in accordance with Regulations 714/2009 and 715/2009, including guidelines and network codes adopted pursuant to those Regulations, and Regulation 543/2013 is considered simultaneous, complete and effective public disclosure. However, this does not necessarily constitute disclosure in a timely manner. To ensure timely disclosure, the inside information has to be published, in any case, before trading in wholesale energy products to which that information relates or recommending another person to trade on wholesale energy markets to which that information relates.
  • if information does not have to be made public in accordance with Regulations 714/2009, 715/2009 and 543/2013, there is no reason for applying a different timeframe for the disclosure of information than stated in the above-mentioned Regulations. Such information should therefore normally be published as soon as possible, but at the latest within one hour if not otherwise specified in applicable rules and regulations. But in any case the inside information has to be published before trading in wholesale energy products to which that information relates or recommending another person to trade on wholesale energy markets to which that information relates.

Market participants should develop a clear compliance plan towards real time or close to real time disclosure of inside information, beyond compliance with existing third package transparency obligations.

Rechtzeitige Veröffentlichung von Insider-Information

Rechtzeitige Veröffentlichung von Insider-Information

Insider-Information muss effektiv und rechtzeitig veröffentlicht werden. ACER ist der Auffassung, dass

  • eine Insider-Information, die gemäß den Verordnungen (EG) Nr. 714/2009 und (EG) Nr. 715/2009, einschließlich der Leitlinien und Netzkodizes die auf Basis dieser Verordnungen verabschiedet werden und der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 543/2013, veröffentlicht wurde, eine gleichzeitige, vollständige und effektive Veröffentlichung darstellt. Dies bedeutet jedoch noch nicht, dass die Veröffentlichung auch rechtzeitig erfolgte. Um dies zu gewährleisten, muss die Veröffentlichung in jedem Fall vor dem Handel der Energiegroßhandelsprodukte erfolgen, auf welche sich die Informationen beziehen oder bevor einer anderen Person eine Empfehlung zum Handel in einem Energiegroßhandelsmarkt abgegeben wurde, auf welche sich diese Information bezieht;
  • für eine Information die nicht gemäß den Verordnungen (EG) Nr. 714/2009, 715/2009 und 543/2013 veröffentlicht werden muss, kein anderer Zeitraum für die Veröffentlichung anzuwenden ist, als in den oben genannten Verordnungen. Eine solche Information sollte daher so rasch wie möglich, aber spätestens innerhalb einer Stunde, sofern dies nicht in anwendbaren Regeln oder Verordnungen anders festgelegt wird, veröffentlicht werden. Die Veröffentlichung muss aber in jedem Fall vor dem Handel eines Energiegroßhandelsprodukts erfolgen, auf welche sich diese Information bezieht, oder vor der Empfehlung an eine andere Person, in einem Energiegroßhandelsmarkt zu handeln, auf welche sich diese Information bezieht.

Marktteilnehmer sollten einen klaren Compliance Plan für die Veröffentlichung von Insider-Information in Echtzeit oder nahe Echtzeit entwickeln, der über die Transparenzverpflichtungen des dritten Pakets hinausgeht.