Regional perspectives for the Austrian gas market

Study on „Italian-Austrian wholesale price formation in the light of market integration”

ARERA and E-Control have been evaluating the possibility of merging the Italian and Austrian gas market areas to a single trading region. The basic idea behind market merging is that two markets can gain wholesale market volumes and better efficiency by combining their demand and supply volumes into a single wholesale market. This structural reform is suggested by ACER  in the amended Gas Target Model (AGTM) to improve efficiency and the functioning of gas markets as it improves its liquidity.
To perform a preliminary assessment of the potential impact of such a trading region, ARERA and E-Control have jointly commissioned a study to Frontier Economics and DFC Economics in order to investigate the wholesale gas price formation mechanism in the Austrian and Italian gas market before and after the merger of the Italian and Austrian areas.
The study published today contains the results of the analysis performed by the consultants, which the regulators consider very valuable in order to gain a better understanding of the main drivers of the current and perspective price formation mechanisms in the different European gas hubs, and in particular at CEGH and PSV. The analysis highlights that in the medium to long term scenarios (when the potential merging could in principle be realized) the benefits in terms of increased social welfare are vis-à-vis the planning uncertainty involved and the substantial implementation complexity rather limited.
For these reasons, for the time being, ARERA and E-Control have decided not to move forward with further discussions or technical analysis regarding an integration of the Italian and Austrian gas market, while they will keep investigating potential ways to improve the efficient use of the existing interconnection capacity connecting the two market areas to the benefit of all the market participants and gas consumers.

 

 

Study "Self-evaluation and regional perspectives for the Austrian gas market"

ACER's "European Gas Target Model - Review and Update" (AGTM) recommends that national regulatory authorities carry out a self-evaluation based on a set of metrics to assess the functioning of the respective national gas wholesale markets. Furthermore, the AGTM recommends to analyse potential structural market reforms in case of non-fulfilment of the requirements.

Against this backgroud, two studies have been prepared in close cooperation between a consultancy company and E-Control Austria:

 

Evaluation of the Austrian gas wholesale market (0,6 MB)

  • Evaluation of the Austrian gas wholesale market (market area East) on the basis of the "Market Health Metrics"
    and "Market Participants Needs‘ Metrics" for the years 2014 and 2015
 

Analysis of market integration options (1,2 MB)

  • Analysis of market integration options including a simplified cost-benefit analysis

 

Related events:

On 1 February 2017 a summary of the results of the two studies was presented in a webinar. To review the webinar and to access the presentation (German language only) please click here.

On 14 March 2017 the results of the studies were presented and discussed at a stakeholder conference. For details, please click here.

 

Results of the market consultation:

In February/March 2017 a market consultation has been conducted based on the published studies and a provided questionnaire. Related the following documents are provided

Compilation of responses received from market participants for publication.

Summary and appraisal of the received responses from the perspective of  E-Control. This includes a qualitative summary of provided arguments and positions  and focuses on aspects which have been planned for investigation and thus included in the prepared questionnaire.

Regionale Perspektiven für den österreichischen Gasmarkt

Studie "Italienisch-österreichische Großhandelspreisbildung im Lichte der Marktintegration"

ARERA und E-Control haben die Möglichkeit geprüft, das italienische und das österreichische Gasmarktgebiet zu einem integrierten Marktgebiet zusammenzulegen. Der Grundgedanke dahinter ist, dass zwei Märkte durch die Zusammenlegung der angebotenen und nachgefragten Gasmengen an Großhandelsmarktvolumen gewinnen und die Effizienz verbessern können. Diese Strukturreform wird im ACER Gas Target Model (AGTM) vorgeschlagen, um die Effizienz und das Funktionieren der Gasmärkte zu verbessern, da sie deren Liquidität erhöht.

Um eine erste Abschätzung der möglichen Auswirkungen einer solchen Zusammenlegung vorzunehmen, haben ARERA und E-Control gemeinsam eine Studie bei Frontier Economics und DFC Economics in Auftrag gegeben, um den Preisbildungsmechanismus im Gasgroßhandel vor und nach der Zusammenlegung der Gasmärkte zu untersuchen.

Die veröffentlichte Studie enthält die Ergebnisse der von den Beratern durchgeführten Analyse. Diese Ergebnisse werden von den Regulierungsbehörden als sehr wertvoll erachtet, um ein besseres Verständnis der Haupttreiber aktueller und zukünftiger Preisbildungsmechanismen an den verschiedenen europäischen Gashubs und insbesondere am CEGH und PSV zu gewinnen. Die Analyse hebt hervor, dass in den mittel- bis langfristigen Szenarien (in denen die potenzielle Zusammenlegung prinzipiell realisiert werden könnte) die Vorteile im Hinblick auf eine erhöhte soziale Wohlfahrt angesichts der damit verbundenen Planungsunsicherheit und der erheblichen Implementierungskomplexität eher begrenzt sind.

Aus diesen Gründen haben ARERA und E-Control beschlossen, vorerst keine weiteren Diskussionen oder technischen Analysen bezüglich einer Integration des italienischen und österreichischen Gasmarktes voranzutreiben. Es sollen jedoch weiterhin mögliche Wege zur Verbesserung der effizienten Nutzung der bestehenden Kapazität zwischen den beiden Marktgebieten zum Nutzen aller Marktteilnehmer und Gasverbraucher untersucht werden.

 

Studie "Selbstevaluierung und regionale Perspektiven für den österreichischen Gasmarkt"

Das „European Gas Target Model – Review and Update” der ACER (AGTM) sieht vor, dass die nationalen Regulierungsbehörden im Zuge einer Selbstevaluierung prüfen, inwieweit deren nationale Märkte die diversen Anforderungen des AGTM an funktionierende Märkte erfüllen und, soweit erforderlich, strukturelle Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Zielerreichung prüfen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund wurden in enger Abstimmung zwischen einem beauftragten Beratungsunternehmen und Energie-Control Austria zwei Studien erstellt:

 

Evaluierung des österreichischen Gas-Großhandelsmarktes (2,6 MB)

  • Evaluierung des österreichischen Gas-Großhandelsmarktes (MG Ost) auf Basis der „Market Health Metrics“ und
    „Market Participants Needs‘ Metrics“ des AGTM für die Jahre 2014 und 2015
 

Analyse von Marktintegrationsvarianten (5,4 MB)

  • Analyse von Marktintegrationsvarianten inklusive einer vereinfachten Kosten-Nutzen-Abschätzung

 

Veranstaltungen zu diesem Thema:

Am 1. Februar 2017 wurden die zusammengefassten Ergebnisse der Studien im Zuge eines Webinars präsentiert. Die veröffentlichte Präsentationsunterlage dazu finden Sie als Hintergrundinformation hier.

Am 14. März 2017 wurden die Ergebnisse der Studien auf einer Fachtagung der Energie-Control Austria vorgestellt und anschließend mit Experten auf dem Podium und im Publikum diskutiert. Details dazu finden Sie hier.

 

Ergebnisse der Marktkonsultation:

Im Februar/März 2017 wurde auf Basis der veröffentlichten Studie und einem bereitgestellten Fragebogen eine Marktkonsultation durchgeführt. dazu stehen folgende Dokumente zum Download bereit:

Zusammenstellung der von Marktteilnehmern übermittelten und von diesen für die Veröffentlichung zugelassenen Stellungnahmen.

Zusammenfassung und Würdigung der erhaltenden Stellungnahmen von Marktteilnehmern aus Sicht der E-Control. Die Zusammenfassung der vorgebrachten Argumente und Positionen ist qualitativer Natur und konzentriert sich weitgehend auf jene Aspekte, die auch Unter­suchungs­gegenstand der durchgeführten Studien waren und entsprechend im Fragebogen enthalten waren.