Rules for the free market

The legal basis for the liberalised Austrian energy markets is formed by the Elektrizitätswirtschafts- und -organisationsgesetz (Electricity Act) for electricity and by the Gaswirtschaftsgesetz (Natural Gas Act) for gas. In 2001, the legislator set up E-Control as an independent regulatory authority with the task and aim of ensuring compliance with these rules and promoting the liberalisation of the market for the benefit of the consumers.

E-Control supervises the market
Fig 1: E-Control's tasks

E-Control's tasks

E-Control exercises an important function in overseeing the activities of the electricity and natural gas suppliers. In case there is reason to suspect non-compliant behaviour, E-Control can initiate a procedure to ensure compliance with the legal requirements. E-Control can also help solve issues between consumers and energy suppliers. By opening dispute settlement procedures, it can help consumers claim their rights. In cooperation with the energy undertakings, E-Control establishes market rules which ensure functioning markets.

Austrian system operators are regulated by E-Control. This means that the charges system operators may invoice to the consumers are determined by the Regulation Commission. The Regulation Commission also approves the general terms and conditions of the system operators.

As an independent institution, E-Control stands ready to assist consumers with any questions they have relating to electricity or natural gas, whether they do not understand their electricity or gas bill or disagree with their supplier. E-Control offers its Tariff Calculator for a really simple price comparison, helps with tips on saving energy and offers personalised information via its hotline.

Auch ein freier Markt braucht Regeln

Die rechtlichen Grundlagen für den österreichischen Strommarkt sind im Elektrizitätswirtschafts- und -organisationsgeset€z (ElWOG) festgelegt, jene für den Gasmarkt im Gaswirtschaftsgesetz (GWG). Um die Einhaltung dieser Vorgaben sicherzustellen und um die Liberalisierung des Marktes im Sinne der Konsumenten voranzutreiben, wurde vom Gesetzgeber im Jahr 2001 die E-Control als unabhängige Regulierungsbehörde geschaffen.

Marktaufsich durch die E-Control
Abb. 1: Funktionen der E-Control

Die Aufgaben der E-Control

Die E-Control übt eine wichtige Aufsichtsfunktion in Bezug auf die Strom- bzw. Gaslieferanten aus. Werden Missstände vermutet, kann die E-Control Verfahren einleiten und so die Einhaltung von rechtlichen Bestimmungen sicherstellen. Auch bei Streitigkeiten zwischen Konsumenten und Energielieferanten kann die E-Control helfen: Streitschlichtungsverfahren können eingeleitet werden und so dem Konsumenten zu seinem Recht verholfen werden. Gemeinsam mit den Energieunternehmen legt die E-Control die Marktregeln fest, die das Funktionieren des Marktes sicherstellen.

Die Netzbetreiber werden in Österreich von der E-Control reguliert. Das bedeutet, dass die Entgelte, die die Netzbetreiber den Konsumenten in Rechnung stellen dürfen, von der Regulierungskommission festgelegt werden. Die Regulierungskommission genehmigt auch die Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen der Netzbetreiber.

Für die Konsumenten steht die E-Control als unabhängige Stelle für Fragen rund um das Thema Strom und Gas zur Verfügung. Sei es bei Unklarheiten in der Strom- bzw. Gasrechnung oder auch bei Streitigkeiten mit dem Lieferanten. Die E-Control ermöglicht mit dem Tarifkalkulator einen einfachen Preisvergleich, hält Tipps zum Energiesparen bereit und informiert auch individuell über die Energie-Hotline.