Market players

Suppliers

Suppliers of electricity and natural gas compete with each other on the market. For you as a customer, this means that you are free to choose from which of them to buy your energy. Electricity suppliers have to procure the electricity they need to supply their customers. At present there are over 130 power suppliers in Austria. Some market their products throughout the country and others only have a local presence.

Natural gas suppliers must ensure that they deliver gas to their customers. In Austria, gas is mostly imported from abroad; one fifth of the natural gas demand in Austria is covered with gas from domestic production. To date, more than 30 natural gas suppliers offer natural gas in Austria, some only locally, others in several of the federal provinces.

System operators

The system operators are responsible for building, expanding, maintaining and operating the network, i.e. the gas and power lines through which energy is transported to the consumers. The network includes both transmission lines and complex distribution grids in towns and rural areas. Each system operator has a specified grid zone. Where you live therefore determines who your system operator is. Even after switching your supplier, your system operator will remain the same.

Consumers

Consumers draw electricity or gas and pay the energy price to the supplier and the network charges to the system operator. By numbers, household consumers constitute the largest group of energy users. But there are of course other important consumer groups such as commercial consumers or large industrial consumers. Almost all Austrian households are connected to the electricity grid: there are about 3.5 m electricity consumers in Austria. Natural gas is supplied to approximately 1.3 m consumers.

Akteure auf dem österreichischen Strom- und Gasmarkt

Lieferanten

Die Strom bzw. Gaslieferanten stehen im Wettbewerb zueinander. Das heißt, dass jeder Kunde sich aussuchen kann, von wem er beliefert werden möchte. Die Stromlieferanten beschaffen für Ihre Kunden die elektrische Energie für deren Versorgung. Derzeit gibt es über 130 Stromlieferanten in Österreich. Einige Lieferanten bieten ihr Produkt österreichweit an, andere treten nur lokal als Anbieter auf.

Die Gaslieferanten müssen Ihre Kunden mit Gas versorgen. In Österreich wird Erdgas größtenteils aus dem Ausland importiert, ein Fünftel des in Österreich verbrauchten Gases stammt aus heimischer Produktion. Derzeit gibt es über 30 Gaslieferanten, die zum Teil ihr Gas nur lokal anbieten oder auch in mehreren Bundesländern als Mitbewerber auftreten.

Netzbetreiber

Netzbetreiber sind verantwortlich für die Errichtung, den Ausbau, die Instandhaltung und Betrieb des Strom- bzw. Gasnetzes, also der Leitungen, über die die Kunden mit elektrischer Energie versorgt werden. Dazu gehören sowohl Übertragungsnetze, als auch weit verzweigte Verteilernetze in Städten und am Land. Ein Netzbetreiber verfügt über ein festgelegtes Netzgebiet. Das heißt, der Wohnort eines jeden Kunden bestimmt, wer der zuständige Netzbetreiber ist. Auch bei einem Wechsel des Energielieferanten bleibt also der Netzbetreiber immer derselbe.

Konsumenten

Die Konsumenten beziehen Strom bzw. Gas und zahlen dafür den Energiepreis an die Lieferanten und den Netztarif an die Netzbetreiber. Die Haushaltskunden sind die größte Gruppe der Endverbraucher, bezogen auf ihre Zahl. Natürlich gibt es neben den Haushaltskunden auch noch andere wichtige Endverbraucher wie Gewerbebetriebe und große Industriekunden. Nahezu jeder österreichische Haushalt ist mit Strom versorgt, es gibt ca. 3,5 Mio. Stromendkunden in Österreich. Im Bereich Gas gibt es in Österreich rund 1,3 Mio. Endkunden.