Exemption from renewable electricity charges

The Austrian Ökostromgesetz (Green Electricity Act) entered into force on 1 July 2012. Recipients of social assistance or long-term care benefits, pensioners and students can be exempted from payment of the flat-rate renewables charge and the part of the renewables contribution exceeding € 20. To be eligible for such an exemption, a household's income may not exceed the Ausgleichszulagenrichtsatz thresholds by more than 12%.

They are the same thresholds that apply for exemptions from the TV and radio licence fee. If you are already exempted from the latter in accordance with the Fernsprechentgeltzuschussgesetz (Call Charges Support Act), you only need to send your last electricity bill in to GIS Gebühren Info Service GmbH (GIS) to be exempted from the green electricity costs as well.

E-Control has issued the dedicated Befreiungsverordnung Ökostrom (Green Electricity Cost Exemption Ordinance) that regulates how the exemption process is to be conducted.

Further information on green electricity costs and exemptions

What are the flat-rate renewables charge and the renewables contribution?

Electricity generated from renewable energy sources, such as wind, biomass or solar power (PV), is more expensive than electricity from fossil fuels (such as natural gas or coal) or from existing large hydropower plants. Parts of the additional costs created by this renewable electricity generation are covered through the flat-rate renewables charge and the renewables contribution. Both of these are payable by consumers. You'll see them on your annual electricity bill: in German, they are called Ökostrompauschale and Ökostromförderbeitrag. The former is a charge per metering point, fixed at € 33 per year for household consumers. The latter is calculated on the basis of your system charges; for instance, with an annual consumption of 3,500 kWh, it amounts to about € 26 per year.

What can I be exempted from?

The flat-rate renewables charge per metering point is € 33 per year. The renewables contribution is stated in cent/kWh and reaches the € 20 threshold when annual electricity consumption amounts to about 2,300 kWh. An exemption is possible for the € 33 of the flat-rate renewables charge and for any amount of the renewables contribution beyond € 20.

Where can I apply for an exemption?

Applications for an exemption from the green electricity costs must be handed in to GIS, via a dedicated form that can be downloaded in German from the GIS website. It is also available at your municipality's offices and your local Raiffeisenbank branch. If you were already exempted from the TV and radio licence fee on 1 July 2012, GIS made contact with you during the weeks after to inform you about the possibility for an exemption from the green electricity costs. Once you have handed in your application, GIS will inform you about whether it has been accepted or not.

As of 1 July 2012, GIS has also established a dedicated hotline: 0810 00 10 80

How much income can a household have (as of 01/01/2017) to qualify for an exemption?
 

  • Single-person households: € 996.62
  • Two-person households: € 1,494.27
  • Increasing by € 153.78 for each additional person

Please note that the thresholds are revised at the beginning of each year.

When does my exemption start? How long is it valid for?

If you are eligible for an exemption, it applies from the first day of the month following your application with GIS. It is valid for the same period of time as the proof you have provided of your income, but in no case for more than five years. Please note that you must inform GIS without delay if your income changes.

Do I have to inform my system operator or electricity supplier that I am exempted?

No. If your application has been approved, GIS sends your name and address to your system operator and informs it about the period of time for which the exemption applies. The system operator will then take the green electricity costs off your bill.

Teilweise Befreiung von Ökostromkosten

Seit dem Inkrafttreten des Ökostromgesetzes am 1. Juli 2012 können sich Sozialhilfe- und Pensionsbezieher sowie Studenten und Pflegegeldbezieher, von der Bezahlung der Ökostrompauschale und des Teiles des Ökostromförderbeitrags befreien lassen, der jährlich 20 Euro übersteigt. Voraussetzung ist, dass das Haushaltseinkommen den geltenden Ausgleichszulagenrichtsatz nicht um mehr als 12 % überschreitet.

Die Einkommensgrenzen sind mit den Bestimmungen für die Befreiung von den Rundfunk- und Fernsehgebühren identisch. Liegt also bereits eine GIS-Befreiung (Befreiung nach dem Fernsprechentgeltzuschussgesetz) vor, muss für die Befreiung von den Ökostromkosten lediglich die letzte Stromrechnung bei der GIS Gebühren Info Service GmbH (GIS) eingereicht werden. Bezüglich der Abwicklungsmodalitäten hat die Energie-Control Austria eine eigene Verordnung erlassen ( Befreiungsverordnung Ökostrom ).

Die häufigsten Fragen zur teilweisen Befreiung von den Ökostromkosten

Was sind Ökostrompauschale und Ökostromförderbeitrag?

Strom aus erneuerbaren Energieträgern – wie Wind, Biomasse und Sonnenenergie (Photovoltaik) – ist teurer als Strom, der aus fossilen Energieträgern – wie Gas und Kohle – oder aus bestehenden großen Wasserkraftwerken gewonnen wird. Diese zusätzlichen Kosten für Ökoenergie werden zu einem Teil durch die sogenannte Ökostrompauschale und den Ökostromförderbeitrag aufgebracht. Beide Förderbeiträge sind durch den Endverbraucher zu bezahlen. Sie finden diese Positionen auf Ihrer jährlichen Stromrechnung. Die Ökostrompauschale beträgt für Haushaltskunden 33 Euro/Jahr. Der Ökostromförderbeitrag wird als Zuschlag zu den Netznutzungskosten verrechnet und beträgt beispielsweise bei einem Jahresverbrauch von 3.500 kWh rund 49 Euro/Jahr.

Wie hoch ist die mögliche Befreiung?

Die Ökostrompauschale beträgt 33 Euro/Jahr. Der Ökstromförderbeitrag wird in Cent/kWh eingehoben und übersteigt die 20 Euro Grenze ab einem Jahresverbrauch von ca. 1.100 kWh. Damit beträgt die jährliche Ersparnis mindestens 33 Euro/Jahr plus den 20 Euro übersteigenden Ökostromförderbeitrag.

Wo kann ich um die Befreiung ansuchen?

Die Befreiung von den Ökostromkosten muss bei der GIS mittels eines von der GIS-Homepage herunterladbaren Formulars beantragt werden. Das Formular liegt aber auch bei Gemeindeämtern und Raiffeisenbanken auf. Personen, welche zum 1. Juli 2012 bereits über eine aufrechte Genehmigung für die Befreiung von Rundfunk- und Fernsehgebühren verfügen, werden in den Wochen ab dem 1. Juli 2012 von der GIS über die Möglichkeit der zusätzlichen Befreiung von Ökostromkosten in einem eigenen Schreiben informiert. Nach der Antragstellung werden Sie von der GIS generell über die Genehmigung oder Ablehnung Ihres Antrages informiert.

Seit 1. Juli 2012 steht auch eine Hotline der GIS bereit unter: 0810 00 10 80

Wie hoch ist der Höchstsatz des Haushalts-Nettoeinkommen per 1.1.2017 (Ausgleichszulagenrichtsatz plus 12%)?
 

  • Haushalt mit einer Person: 996,62 Euro
  • Haushalt mit zwei Personen: 1.494,27 Euro
  • für jede weitere Person zusätzlich 153,78 Euro

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Höchstsätze jeweils am 1. Jänner eines Jahres neu festgesetzt werden.

Ab wann und für welchen Zeitraum gilt die Befreiung?

Bei Vorliegen der Genehmigungsvoraussetzungen erfolgt die Befreiung ab dem auf die Antragstellung bei der GIS folgenden Monatsersten und gilt für die Dauer der Befristung Ihres Einkommensnachweises, maximal jedoch für 5 Jahre. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Änderungen in den Einkommensverhältnissen jederzeit der GIS bekannt zu geben sind

Muss ich meinen Netzbetreiber oder Stromlieferanten von der Befreiung informieren?

Nein. Nach erfolgter Genehmigung Ihres Antrages übermittelt die GIS Namen, Adresse und Befreiungszeitraum an Ihren Netzbetreiber. Dieser nimmt diese Information als Grundlage, Ihnen die Ökostromkosten auf Ihrer Stromrechnung nicht mehr in Rechnung zu stellen.
MerkenMerken