Calculated energy consumption

With our current metering technology, system operators do not always have your exact meter readings. In principle, annual meter readings are foreseen and at least every three years, the system operator must actually send someone to personally read your meter. But meter readings are also needed at the end of each billing period, when the grid tariffs are revised and whenever your supplier changes its rates.

When this happens but current meter readings are not available, your consumption must be calculated. Since 1 October 2010, consumption calculations are derived from so-called “standardised load profiles”, which represent a typical consumer’s load curve.

Applying different such load profiles for different consumer categories, the results are quite precise. For instance, they take into account that a household which runs a heat pump will have a different load curve than one without such an appliance. Also, there are separate profiles for natural gas consumers.

How it works

Energy consumption is different for each month, so to calculate your consumption at a specific point in time, the first step is to assign each month a weight in annual energy consumption; this is done in accordance with your load profile.

This weighting is used to distribute your annual energy consumption across the year. This enables your system operator to calculate how much energy you consumed during each month.

 

The same or a similar logic is used to calculate the energy band that is relevant for your gas network tariff, as this also varies depending on the billing period (which might be longer or shorter than a year).

If you want to crunch the numbers, please go to our German pages, where we have provided a calculation example for you.

Consumers benefit

This might seem somewhat complicated at first, but actually the introduction of a uniform method means that all large network operators now follow the same calculation rules. This also makes it easier for our experts to verify the numbers if you call our hotline or contact our dispute settlement service.

Rechnerische Ermittlung Ihres Energieverbrauchs

Nicht immer stehen zum Ende einer Abrechnungsperiode oder bei einer Energiepreis- bzw. Netztarifänderung Ihre aktuellen Zählerstände zur Verfügung. Netzbetreiber sind zwar dazu verpflichtet jährlich, mindestens aber alle drei Jahre, Ihren Zählerstand abzulesen, aber bei vielen unterjährigen Änderungen müssen Verbrauchsabgrenzungen auf Basis von rechnerisch ermittelten Werten herangezogen werden.

Dazu wurde eine einheitliche Ermittlung dieser „Verbrauchsschätzung“ festgelegt. Seit 1.Oktober 2010 erfolgt die Berechnung auf Basis von Musterprofilen, die ein durchschnittliches Konsumentenverhalten darstellen und „synthetische Lastprofile“ genannt werden.

Der Energieverbrauch von Konsumenten lässt sich nach diesen Verbrauchsmustern recht genau bestimmen. Es gibt verschiedene Lastprofile, die bei unterschiedlichen Nutzern eingesetzt werden: Eine Wärmepumpenheizung zeigt ein anderes Verbrauchsprofil als ein Haushalt mit Normalstrom. Wieder andere synthetische Lastprofile gibt es für Gaskunden.

Berechnungsmethode

Für die rechnerische Ermittlung von Verbrauchswerten werden den Lastprofilen je Monat bestimmte Prozentwerte zugeordnet. Die Aufteilung der Verbrauchsanteile auf die einzelnen Monate unterscheidet sich je nach dem jeweiligen Lastprofil. Die Summe aller Monatsprozentwerte eines solchen Jahresprofils ergibt immer 100%.

Nach diesen Prozentwerten wird auch Ihr Verbrauch in einem Abrechnungszeitraum aufgeteilt, wenn eine Abgrenzung aufgrund einer Tarif- oder Preisänderung notwendig ist.

 

Dies gilt mit einer ähnlichen Berechnungslogik auch für die Berechnung der jeweiligen Zonengrößen ihres Gas-Netztarifes, die je nach Größe des Abrechnungszeitraumes (kürzer oder länger als ein Jahr) größer oder kleiner werden.
 

Vorteil für Konsumenten

Auch wenn dies auf den ersten Blick etwas kompliziert wirkt, hat die Vereinheitlichung für Sie als Konsument den Vorteil, dass die Abgrenzung erstmals für alle großen Netzbetreiber nach festgelegten Regeln erfolgt und deshalb von unabhängigen Experten der Energie-Hotline und der Streitschlichtung besser nachvollzogen und überprüft werden kann.