Lighting

 

Of the energy used by incandescent light bulbs, 95% go into heat and only a very small part goes actually into lighting. Low-energy light bulbs are much more efficient. A 20 watt low-energy light bulb produces the same light as a 100 watt conventional one. The table below compares incandescent light bulbs and low-energy ones.

  Electrical power Price Lifetime
Low-energy light bulb 11 W between € 3 and € 10 10,000 hours
Incandescent light bulb 60 W about € 1 1,000 hours
 

Different types of low-energy light bulbs

The alternatives to incandescent light bulbs include halogen bulbs, compact fluorescent lamps and LED lamps. All of these are more efficient than the conventional bulbs and offer a wide variety of features.
 

How to choose your lamp

Decide which room you want to light: Compact fluorescent lamps with warm or extra warm light are good for rooms where you spend your free time. This is the same warm, soft colour that you would get from an incandescent light bulb. LED lamps can also produce this tone. If you choose white or daylight lamps, the room will take on a more neutral, factual quality; this is well-suited for offices and desks.

Choose the right wattage: low-energy light bulbs need much less power to produce the same light as traditional bulbs. The table below shows how these relate to each other.

 
Incandescent light bulb Low-energy light bulb
25 W 5-7 W
40 W 7-9 W
60 W 11-15 W
75 W 15-18 W
100 W 20-23 W
more than 100 W 23 W and more

Get the most out of longer bulb lifetimes: low-energy light bulbs are more expensive to buy but have much longer lifetimes than incandescent light bulbs.

 

European Commission memo


For more information, visit the website of the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management.

Energiesparlampen

 

Herkömmliche Glühlampen produzierten zu 95 % Wärme und nur sehr wenig Licht. Energiesparlampen haben einen bedeutend besseren Wirkungsgrad. Anstatt einer herkömmlichen 100 Watt Lampe reicht eine 20 Watt Energiesparlampe, die dieselbe Helligkeit bringt. Die nachfolgende Tabelle zeigt einen Vergleich von Glüh- und Energiesparlampe mit gleicher Leuchtstärke.

  Leistung Preis Lebensdauer
Energiesparlampe 11 W ca. 3,- bis 10,- Euro 10.000 Stunden
Glühlampe 60 W ca. 1,- Euro 1.000 Stunden
 

Unterschiedliche Arten von Energiesparlampen

Energie sparende Alternativen sind beispielsweise Halogenlampen oder so genannte Kompaktleuchtstofflampen und LED-Lampen , die sich alle je nach Bedarf und Vorliebe problemlos anstelle herkömmlicher Glühlampen einsetzen lassen.
 

Tipps für die Wahl der richtigen Lampe

Leuchtmittel und Lichtfarbe je nach Einsatzbereich auswählen: für Wohnbereiche eignen sich beispielsweise Kompaktleuchtstofflampen mit den Lichttönen 'warmweiß’ und 'extra-warmweiß’. Dies entspricht dem Licht einer herkömmlichen Glühlampe und schafft eine gemütliche Atmosphäre mit einem warmen, angenehmen Licht. Auch LED Lampen können dieses Licht gut erzeugen. Mit den Tönen 'neutralweiß’ und ‚tageslichtweiß’ schaffen Sie eine sachliche, eher kühle Atmosphäre die beispielsweise gut geeignet ist zum Ausleuchten von Arbeitsplätzen.

Auf die richtige Wattzahl achten: Energie sparende Lampen erreichen mit einer weit geringeren Leistungsaufnahme dieselbe Lichtleistung wie herkömmliche Glühlampen. In der folgenden Tabelle sehen Sie, welche Wattstärke einer Energiesparlampe den Wattzahlen herkömmlicher Glühbirnen entspricht.

 
Glühbirne Energiesparlampe
25 W 5 - 7 W
40 W 7 - 9 W
60 W 11 - 15 W
75 W 15 - 18 W
100 W 20 - 23 W
mehr als 100 W 23 W und mehr

Die längere Lebensdauer nützen: Energiesparlampen sind zwar im Anschaffungspreis meist etwas teurer, haben aber eine weitaus längere Lebensdauer.

 

Memo der Europäischen Kommission


Weitere Informationen finden Sie auch auf den Seiten des Lebensministeriums .